Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Four Years Ago…

34 Comments

afterglow-3

December 1, 2012

 

I never would have imagined that at the age of 56, after twenty years of marriage and the unexpected divorce that brought me to my knees, after the rebound from hell followed by the rebound from purgatory, and after five years of celibacy when I almost gave up on romance, that I would end up marrying the love of my life.

God had a plan all along. We just had to be ready. Not perfect, just ready to work on our stuff together.

Never give up.

You never know

what wonderful surprises

are waiting right around the corner!

 

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

34 thoughts on “Four Years Ago…

  1. So love your story. It gives me hope.

  2. I really love your love story!! I was looking for inspiration one day and Goggled ‘Anything is Possible’, you know, to inspire myself to believe God for the impossible, and your blog came up. And as I was reading it, I could not believe the parallels between your life and mine: the long relationship that surprisingly ended; the relationship from hell, my former life as a people-pleaser thriving on co-dependence. I believe God led me to you to show me I was not alone, that I could have hope and learn to love myself past my pain, and your wonderful blogs and poems have been helping me do that. I thank God for you!! And what’s more, your story of how you reconnected with your first love after so many years gives me hope in that arena, because I have just reconnected with a man who has been on my mind and heart for the past 20 years!! I am in my forties now and we met when we were both in our early 20’s. We weren’t together very long but there was something so incredibly amazing about him that I have not been able to shake him. Through the passage of time, through other relationships and tons of change, he was always there, in my heart, making me always wonder what he was up to. I was finally able to locate him and sent him a letter and his memory of me is just as vivid as mine is of him! I have been praying for a second chance and I believe I am going to get it!! Your life story has been an inspiration and a blessing to me. Thank you so much for sharing it!!

    • This really means a lot to me. And it comes at just the right time! It’s my goal to inspire and give hope, so what a powerful affirmation! We’ve sure been through a lot, haven’t we? Now blessings are coming for both of us! Thank you so much for your support. Feel free to keep in touch!

  3. may you always
    be so young
    & in love 🙂

  4. I am so happy for you JoAnna and thank you for sharing your joy and paying it forward. For me, the timing is perfect, it gives me hope and confidence. Someday soon you may find a similar post from me. Happy Anniversary and celebrate the love you deserve and earned and that you are sharing and celebrating. The world needs more love and more beautiful souls such as yourself. Blessings, Harlon

  5. Congratulations Joanne! I am happy for you, this is a great reminder that God is always up to something, it’s never too late.

  6. Congratulations. I’m so happy for you my friend!!! 🙂 ❤

  7. I am continually reminded how God’s timing is definitely not our timing…. but it is always PERFECT timing. Thanks for sharing this beautiful story with us. I’m sorry it took pain to get there, but I am so happy to see that you found your love 🙂

    • Thank you, Mackenzie. Yep, God’s timing is perfect. God can take a disaster and turn it into a miracle. Plus, the pain of the past makes the gratitude of today so much sweeter. 🙂

  8. Congratulations, JoAnna! I’m happy for you both and inspired by your story. There are times when life doesn’t seem as big, as chancy, as anonymous as the world makes it seem–times when life itself seems to be the scope of our intimacy with God, and that’s what I feel reading this story… 🙂

    Peace!
    Michael

  9. You never can tell!

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  10. So there are tears in my eyes right now. You deserve happiness

  11. Congratulations. This is beautiful, you have found your soul mate. X

  12. Wonderful account! Called by to offer my sincere thanks for your recent decision to follow Learning from Dogs!

  13. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and inspiration you provide. We would like to encourage you to keep writing and never abandon this blog. I appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    • Dear Jacque, this is one of the most encouraging comments I’ve ever received. It means a great deal to me. Best wishes and many thanks to you and the wife!

  14. I’ve just stumbled across your blog and this post has me smiling from ear to ear. I’m so glad that you have found happiness! It’s important to remain hopeful. After my divorce, I’m trying to do just that. Thank you 🙂

  15. I’m so glad you found me! Sounds like good timing. It took a while for things to work out, but they sure did, so stay hopeful. I’m looking forward to visiting your blog. 🙂

Feel free to comment!

