Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Good Triggers

17 Comments

Today’s Just Jot January prompt is, “trigger.” That’s the name of a character in our host’s interesting story.

When we think of psychological or emotional triggers, we often think of a word, image, smell, etc. that triggers something unpleasant. Maybe it’s an unpleasant memory, reaction, or past trauma. But stop! Don’t go there!

What about triggers that trigger good memories or positive reactions?

I seem to remember positive triggers being created when I was trained to do hypnosis. It was over ten years ago, and while I did some private practice work after completing my training, I haven’t kept up with it, so my memory is a bit fuzzy. Maybe something will trigger my memory of establishing a good trigger!

If someone is in a relaxed state or having a pleasant experience, and puts their hand on their heart, or makes an okay sign with their hand and repeatedly pairs the positive feeling with that gesture, then the idea is that the gesture will trigger the positive feeling. Now, I remember the word, anchor, was also used in our training.

The smell of pine triggers a memory of hiking in the woods. The smell of cloves or cinnamon can trigger the taste of pumpkin pie and Thanksgiving or Christmas memories.

How about a song triggering memories or feelings from long ago? A song that was popular in our formative years can take us back to that time. Dan at No Facilities recently shared some examples in this post “Name that Tune.”

Songs by The Beach Boys trigger memories from the late 1970s driving to the beach in my 69 Dodge Dart with the windows down because there was no AC in that car.

Roberta Flack’s The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face takes me back to 1972 when David and I were dating.

Some songs just trigger funny feelings and images, like The Beatles Yellow Submarine.

Speaking of The Beatles, how about this one?

What are some of your good triggers?

For more jottings and Just Jot January info visit Linda at:

#JusJoJan prompt the 24th – “Trigger” | (lindaghill.com)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

17 thoughts on “Good Triggers

  1. Awesome message. I’ll be searching for my happy triggers 🤩

  2. Interesting post, JoAnna! Love the Beatles and enjoyed “Here comes the Sun”. Two of my favorites are, “Imagine,” and “Yellow Submarine.” ❤ Have a great week!

    • The Beatles are phenomenal in all the good songs they have spanning generations. Glad you enjoyed, “Here Comes the Sun.” I hope you have a great week, too!

  3. The late Roger Lloyd-Pack, one of our excellent Shakespearian actors, plays a character called Trigger, seen here in the blue jacket, to my mind stealing the scene in one of our greatest TV comedy clips: https://youtu.be/63rcdLeXiU8

  4. That song, along with most of George Harrison’s music is a feelgood trigger for me. Nice post, JoAnna.

  5. JoAnna this is a marvelous and unexpected post. I admit it — I’ve got more than a few triggers. The unexpected thing is “positive triggers.” I always thought of triggers as being a negative. Great food for thought here.
    I like that you finished with “Here Comes the Sun.” The only memory I have of it is a teacher saying something negative about George Harrison. However the song always feels bright and safe, a clean new day. Hugs on the wing! (Sharing)

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the post and food for thought! “Here Comes the Sun” was played by Jon Bon Jovi at the post inauguration celebration hosted by Tom Hanks. Hugs on the wing!

  6. Songs are good triggers for me. My father loved playing music in the evenings. During the day, my mother kept the radio on, with the latest hit songs, while she worked at home as a seamstress. Some scents, like brewing coffee and boiling corn on the cob, are also good triggers.

    • Mmmm. Brewing coffee and boiling corn on the cob make wonderful aromas. My dad listened to vinyl records and liked to sing when he wasn’t watching TV.

  7. Positive triggers are the best. I love music and smells – they hold the keys to some amazing times in my life. Great post to read, JoAnna. Thank you for sharing it.

  8. Love the concept of positive triggers! It made me think of prayer and meditation, actually, and how the early stages of quieting my mind often involve the use of positive triggers that assist me in shifting into sacred space. But on the more mundane level, don’t you also have some of those amorphous triggers that carry you not to someplace particular, but to a feeling, maybe just of childhood happiness or something. It’s like a scent in the air after winter, or a certain quality of light, or the sound of a certain bird, and then this deja vu thing happens, only it’s not to a particular scene, but simply to a feeling. I love when that happens. It’s kind of rare, but beautiful…

    Peace
    Michael

    • You have described the triggering of good feelings so beautifully, Michael. I’m sure I have some of those and will pay close attention. When you mentioned the scent in the air after winter, that rang a bell. I love the smell of snow falling at night, though I don’t often experience it. Honeysuckle is another example. Thank you for the positive triggers!

  9. I can think of so many, JoAnna!! Songs…so many songs…and smells…and words…and…and…and…
    Love “Here Comes the Sun”…love all Beatles songs in fact. I love listening to songs from my youth. So many of them take me back to an exact memory…where I was…who I was with…what we were doing!
    Hope you are well…and have a great week! ❤

Feel free to comment!