Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Quality Time and the Letter T

14 Comments

SOC winner 2017

Our prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “T, tea, tee.” The directions are to: “Theme your post around “tea” or “tee,” or find a word that starts with “T” and talk about that. Bonus points if you manage to incorporate all three. Enjoy!”

Taking time away from the internet has been a good thing for me. Not that I went “cold turkey” or anything.  I just cut my on-line time in half (roughly) to do more household things. And I got some writing done yesterday on a Chicken Soup story, so that was good. Speaking of writing. My book starts with the letter, T. Trust the Timing. I don’t plug it that much, but I trust you won’t mind me mentioning it today. It’s about true love standing the test of time, though it (the love) went dormant for almost four decades while me and Mr. D grew up some more. Do we ever finish growing up? I don’t think so, but we can get to a point where we know what’s important. What does that mean? Maybe in ten years, I’ll think different things are important.

Time is important. It always has been. But QUALITY time today means not being on Facebook so much. It (Facebook) pulls me some days – sucks me in. I had thought about setting a timer, but haven’t done that yet. My goal was ten minutes a day. I did that for a few days, but I think it was more like twenty yesterday. Time suck. I’d rather putter around the house, taking care of plants, getting rid of clutter, and reading BOOKS! I miss reading books for fun. Remember when that’s all we had was books? Comic books and real books, no internet! Remember that? And three channels on the TV set! ABC, CBS, and NBC. I know there are a few of us left who remember that. No cell phones, no computers…. I sound like an old geezer. What is a geezer anyway? I don’t care. I don’t have time to look it up.

What about those bonus points? I already wrote a post a while back about my ecology Tee shirt that fit me to a tee in the 7tees. 🙂

ecology flag shirt

My favorite tea to drink is green tea with peach flavor. Sometimes I like to drink chai tea in the winter. Jasmine tea is nice, too. Sometime, I’m going to have a cup of tea and just sit and sip it and do nothing else. I predict that will last for two minutes. Then, I’ll go outside and talk to the trees.

beautiful trees (2)

Do take time to visit Linda Hill’s blog and learn more about Saturday’s Stream of Consciousness. Just click the link below:

https://lindaghill.com/2018/07/27/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-28-18/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing (typos can be fixed), and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. I will post the prompt here on my blog every Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The,’” or will simply be a single word to get you started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read all of them! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later or go to the previous week by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

14 thoughts on “Quality Time and the Letter T

  1. I have plenty of time. A geezer is a descriptive word in the UK which is used to define a man’s characteristics, but it is a bit different in the US being more humorous or mildly disparaging denoting a queer, odd, or eccentric person especially used for elderly men.

    • It’s interesting to note the different definitions across the Atlantic. Thank you! I”m glad you have plenty of time. I guess I have my fair share. Maybe too many different interests. Oh well…. 🙂

  2. Working has cut into lots of my time, of course, but the thing I notice most is how long it takes me to finish a book now. Weird.
    I’m not on FB much, but I keep coming back to WP. I love our community. When I’m busy for days, I literally miss y’all!
    Tea and trees, yes. That’s nice.
    My favorite way to tea and tisane is across my bed with a BOOK! lol

    • My hat’s off to you, Joey. Maybe I shouldn’t complain since I don’t work outside the home anymore. How did I do it when I was a working mom? Well, there was no WP and FB was just getting started. WP is taking the place of FB for me. So much more comfort. As for books, I have a pile next to my bed and on my phone Well, at least we’re not bored! 🙂

  3. Nice job with the prompt, Joanna. Summer projects have pulled me away from the Internet by about half. I’m with Joey, I miss the WP community if I’m gone for long. I’m still catching up on some Friday reads – the ones I just couldn’t skip!

  4. Love the full circle around “t!” And yes…I do remember reading books for fun…have not done that in FOREVER!!!
    Hope you are well and that this Sunday brings you the gift of tiny miracles!! ❤

    • Thanks, Lorrie. Tiny miracles all around! The Chicken Soup for the Soul book I’m reading (cause my story’s in there) turns out to be fun because the stories are so short and easy. Have a lovely week and remember that you are loved. ❤

  5. Welcome back from the social media break! Lovely message for today’s post. :-)!

  6. JoAnna, I am nominating for the Vincent Ehindero Award and will share link when done. Be safe.

    • Thank you so much. However, being “award free” I do not accept awards that require me to nominate others. I am curious as I have not heard of this award.

Feel free to comment!