Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

SoCS: Ups, Downs, and Fancy Sneakers

9 Comments

Our Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt is: “up/down.” Use one, use them both, but try to put one in your first sentence. Bonus points if you use the other in your last sentence. Have fun!

Life is full of ups and downs. Mountains and ravines. Peaks and valleys. Slopes would be better. I’ve had enough of the rollercoasters. Gentle waves are fine if you don’t mind mixing metaphors.

You can dive under some waves. Letting them crash into you is not fun. Positioning is crucial to avoid being slammed down. Then there’s surfing which I don’t know much about. I’ve been on a surfboard but never stood up on one. My preference in the ocean is to swim beyond the breakers or to let the swells lift me to a higher perspective of lower gravity, then set me down gently on the sand.

My granddaughter has sneakers that look like they have scales. I think they are really sequins. Brush them up and they’re silvery. Brush them down, and they’re rainbow colors. Like magic! Just what we need for traveling the peaks and valleys.

But I’d rather lay down on a soft grassy slope and gaze up at the clouds.


~~~

For more streams of consciousness,

plus the ups, downs, ins, and outs of the SoCS rules, please visit out host, Linda Hill at:

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS June 26, 2021 | (lindaghill.com)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

9 thoughts on “SoCS: Ups, Downs, and Fancy Sneakers

  1. Ooh, I adore those fancy sneakers! Reminds me of the Rainbow Fish book I used to read to my daughter. 🙂

  2. Love the way you used the words up and down in your closing sentence. Beautiful imagery. Life is, indeed, full of ups and downs. The view from the mountain peak is expansive and exhilarating. But it is down in the valley that we gather our strength to make the climb up towards the peak.

  3. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and photos!… perhaps one needs an occasional “down” so one gets the incentive to work towards the “up” and enjoy it more when one gets there… 🙂

    Until we meet again..
    May love and laughter light your days,
    and warm your heart and home.
    May good and faithful friends be yours,
    wherever you may roam.
    May peace and plenty bless your world
    with joy that long endures.
    May all life’s passing seasons
    bring the best to you and yours!
    (Irish Saying)

  4. Happy Stream of Consciousness Saturday 🤗

  5. Nice combination of ups and downs.

Feel free to comment!