Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

A Green Stream of Consciousness

21 Comments

Ashton Farm Stream in woods

Green is the color of my true love’s hair.

Well, really it’s silvery-grey. That’s the color of my human true love’s hair. But my other true love, the earth, has green hair. Flowing tendrils, spiky  cactus, bushy oak leaves…. all are Gaia’s crowning glory of green, except there are lovely patches of gold, red, yellow, and orange in the fall.

But now is the greening.

Green was my favorite color in my senior year of high school during the height of the Ecology Movement. You might have seen my Ecology T shirt in this post. But I’m not sure if you’ve seen my green Sagittarius bag from the 70s.

Green Sagittarius Bag from the 70s

I still have this bag!

In 1973-74 green was my color. It’s practically the only color I would wear, except for blue jeans. But blue is the color of the ocean and sky, so that’s fitting.

Here’s a little lighthearted song from Sesame Street about being green. It all starts out nice and mellow, until…..

 

Here are some more green photos that make me think of the earth’s hair:

 

garden creek close up

Header

IMG_3122 (3)

IMG_1929

dogwood in front of pine

(All of today’s photos were taken by yours truly.)

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

 

The Saturday Stream of Consciousness has been brought to you by the prompt, “green”

provided promptly by Linda G. Hill. You can find more green streams at:

https://lindaghill.com/2018/03/16/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-march-17-18/

SOC winner 2017

Here are the SOCS rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

21 thoughts on “A Green Stream of Consciousness

  1. Ah, lovely. Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures. I’m feeling so refreshed now.

  2. I love these pictures! Nature has so many shades of green.

  3. Beautiful pictures. Love the Sagittarius bag too 🙂

  4. I also love the green of nature, especially on the bike trails in the summer. It’s so invigorating!

  5. That’s beautiful pictures. I love green. Don’t wear it nearly often enough. But I love that image of your other true love’s hair. She has beautiful hair mother Gaia hasn’t she?

  6. Your photos are gorgeous!

  7. Lovely. Green is also the colour of the robe worn by the Holy Sprit in icon by Rublev.

  8. Sweet clip with Kermit and Julie and green is pretty nice. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  9. Fab bag. I wish I still had my satchel bag thingy from the 90s… mine was yellow with blue moons and red stripes. To be fair, it was unraveling.
    The greening of the earth is amazing and it’s a magical time. I loved your intro line 🙂

    • Thanks, Joey. I love having this bag, but I have to be careful about keeping things as I learn to let go of STUFF. But NOT the bag. The bag stays. 🙂

  10. This post filled me with excitement and love! 🍀🌸

Feel free to comment!