Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Taken With The Jungle Book

12 Comments

socs-badge-2015

Today’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “ta.”  As Linda G. Hill, the promptress informed us, “The word, ‘ta,’ is British slang for thank you.” We are to  use it this way, or find any other word that starts with those two letters.

Well, I would like to say, ta, as in thank you, to the makers of the film, The Jungle Book. I’ve never read the entire classic by Rudyard Kipling, but I sure did read the children’s book versions to my kids over and over again when they were little. And of course I saw the Disney cartoon version when I was a child, or maybe I was a teenager. Never mind. I can see from this new movie, why the story is a classic.

I was taken aback, many times while watching the movie yesterday. Hey did you notice I used a word that started with Ta and a phrase with the initials T and A? Well, I was just taken with this movie. There were the exciting jump-out-of-my-seat scenes when the tiger, Shere Khan, came out of nowhere. And there were scenes that made me tear up, like the one with Mowgli’s wolf mother telling him that he would always be her son.

And I was awed by the scenes with the elephants who had a very special role in the movie.

Is it possible for film makers to create a movie that makes you believe that computer generated talking animals are real?

Yes. There were moments. And not only did they feel real, they had/possessed/delivered characters of resonance, honor, and lightheartedness. Bill Murray as the voice of Baloo, the bear, was endearingly clever. I just can’t say enough about how much I liked this movie. Can you tell?

It was perfect for Earth Day, or for Earth Month!

Here’s a trailer I believe you will enjoy.

 

If you’d like to be taken (in a good way) with the Saturday Stream of Consciousness, visit Linda’s blog here:

https://lindaghill.com/2016/04/22/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-april-2316/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

12 thoughts on “Taken With The Jungle Book

  1. My nephew enjoyed this movie a lot but my nieces found it a little scary. I had to watch a dubbed version (which is not my favorite way of watching a movie) but irrespective of that I liked that movie. It was very well done.

  2. I’m surprised this movie got a remake, given the well documented subtexts and prejudices of the original source material and it’s author; Kipling was not the most enlightened individual, to say the least.

    • I never read the grown up book, so thanks for the enlightenment. Maybe that’s why they focused on the animals in this remake. I do remember loving Kipling’s poem, “If” as an adolescent. Then, as a young adult, I saw a version called “If for girls” which was totally re-written for girls. It made me feel like throwing up.

  3. I saw this in Hindi version bringing back memories of the animated series that used to run in India. And I was in awe.. I ceased to think of them as “animals” and makes me want to believe that they emote! We just don’t know their language yet.

  4. Hello JoAnna!! I love that you loved this movie…I almost saw it this weekend but the timing was off. I hope that you are well and that you are creating awesome art…I was in NC this weekend…but not near the coast. I am hoping to be able to post soon. Much love to you ❤

    • It’s so good to “hear” from you, Lorrie! You have been in my thoughts often. I’ve been doing a little art, but will do more soon. Looking forward to reading your posts and glad you are doing what you need to do for you! ❤

  5. Bonjour JOANA

    C’est bientôt le premier mai
    Et j’ai cherché , cherché
    Les brins de muguet

    Dans les bois d’ALSACE

    Sur les talus ,sous les branchages et je l’ai trouvé

    Je viens t’offrir en avance ce petit bouquet de muguet

    Je l’ai sentie il a une belle odeur parfumé

    Regarde ces belles petites clochettes blanches

    Chaque clochette sonne mon amitié

    Pour toi ce petit porte bonheur

    Passe une belle semaine et un bon 1 mai avec du bonheur

    BISE Bernard

  6. I heard it was scary for the little ones, but I wouldn’t mind seeing it myself. 🙂 Thanks for this, JoAnna!

Feel free to comment!