Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

A Relaxing, Frugal Honeymoon

7 Comments

socs-badge

I’ve never been to Key West. To be honest, I didn’t want to go that far, hearing it was a rambunctious sort of place.

About three years ago, when my husband and I were looking for a honeymoon spot, he wanted to stay in the US. Both of us being rather frugal, we looked for somewhere not terribly far away from where we live. He suggested the Florida Keys, where I’d never been.

Hilton beach buddyI wanted to relax in a natural setting, and searched the internet for months without finding what I was looking for. Then I started playing with Google Earth, zooming in on areas that had a lot of trees. After weeks of searching, I found an area on Key Largo that looked promising. It turned out to be the Key Largo Hilton which prides itself on it’s natural environment.

I wanted to feel like I was close to the trees, as if in some remote tropical location. And it did sort of have that look.

room w a veiw

Morning view from our balcony

 

balcony w red hair

Late afternoon from the balcony

It didn’t feel quite tropical, because it was December. The air temperature was fine, but the water was a little chilly, though we did do a little snorkeling and went in the pool.  The hot tub was a welcome relief after that.

It was a simple vacation, with a relaxed easy pace. Exactly what I wanted, since I had not taken a whole week off from work in many years.

We drove as far south as Summerland Key, where we ate lunch at the Wharf Restaurant which attracted me with it’s “Coexist” flag.

wharf restaurant at Summerland Key

The food was delicious, and the decor interesting:

wharf at Summerland key

Time for peace.

 

wharf counter

My kind of place.

wharf poster

A good thing about good music.

 

sign at Summerland key wharf

 

 

 

 

 

I’d love to go back sometime, when it’s a little bit warmer than December.

 

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday Post was: “ke” If you’d like to join in the fun, visit:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/05/22/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-2315/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

7 thoughts on “A Relaxing, Frugal Honeymoon

  1. Hi JoAnne! Loved the relaxed adventure to the keys here! I felt the need a few years ago to go to Key West. I also didn’t think I would like the “crazy party” atmosphere it is known for. We stayed at the “Southernmost” hotel and really had a great time. I was pleasantly surprised and will probably go back again 🙂 Hope you are well and that you have a wonderful holiday weekend ❤

  2. Thanks for that perspective, Lorrie. Maybe I’ll check out Key West next time. I hope you are enjoying your weekend. ❤

  3. Love this prompt.
    Florida would be nice. Still cool here in May, in Canada.

  4. I had no idea what I would do with this one, like most. It’s fun to discover what flows. I bet Canada is lovely in the Summer. My Dad was stationed in Argentia, Newfoundland when I was five. It was a magical place in my memory with blue ice bergs, lots of snow for sledding and French on the TV.

  5. We can’t wait to live in Key Largo! Love your blog. We are cruising our boat from Galveston to Key Largo in 7 days.

  6. That sounds absolutely lovely. I know you’ll have a great time! Thanks for stopping by and refreshing the memories!

Feel free to comment!