Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Bunny Rabbits and Spider Veins

8 Comments

socs-badge-2015

Well this is a real fine mess. I can’t connect to my blogs on my laptop. I wonder how many people blog from a phone. This won’t be my first time, but I hope it’s not a regular thing.

The first thing that popped into my head when I read Linda Hill’s SOC prompt, “real,” was the story of the Velveteen Rabbit. I think it was the toy (stuffed) bunny, or was it the old rocking horse talking to the bunny, who said real happens to you over a long time, after your fur has been rubbed off, or loved off. It’s like a Pinocchio story about a toy bunny. A rather sad story in some ways, but the message I like is that real isn’t about being new and shiny. Real is about depth and character.

When I was a child, I knew, intellectually, that my stuffed animals were not real. Yet another part of me felt that they had feelings. I was upset when the disappeared during one of our cross country moves. The moving gremlin must’ve gotten them. I don’t want to think about that anymore.

What if loving an inanimate object puts some kind of energy into it? I’ve heard you can do Reiki on a car and help it run better. I have not experienced that. But I do believe that our thoughts have real effects sometimes. Of course there’s God, and angels and possibly other forces and powers that could be influencing a car to start.

So where to go with this? If real means old and shabby and loved instead of new and slick and shiny, then I’m feeling real. Yes, my body is very real. My legs in particular are real as I notice more of those spider veins. I’ve heard I can get those zapped with a laser and they will disappear. But why couldn’t we just see spider veins as a form of abstract art? I’ll have to think about that. A more real issue is shaving my legs. Since my hair is light in color and getting thinner, I’ve gotten away with not shaving my legs for months. That’s about to change as I’m about to give in to cultural influence. But I think I’ll keep my abstract, natural spider tattoos for a while.

I wonder, from a global perspective, how many women worry about such things. I guess spider veins and shaving legs are relatively minute, practically microscopic, in the grand scheme of things.

A real bunny rabbit, is another matter. Don’t buy a real bunny for Easter. It’s just not fair to the bunny. But you could buy a toy bunny and love it into real.

If you want to join in the real fun of Saturday Stream of Consciousness posting, hop on over to Linda’s blog:

http://lindaghill.com/2016/03/25/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-march-2616/

Here are the rules:
1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.
2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.
3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.
4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.
5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.
6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!
7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.
8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

8 thoughts on “Bunny Rabbits and Spider Veins

  1. Oh, JoAnne, I absolutely loved this! “I don’t want to think about that anymore.” I still think my stuffed animals have feelings. I’m lucky not to have spider veins, nor do I have to shave my lets, but, but I’m certainly feeling “real” in a lot of physical ways! Thank you so much for this. I laughed and smiled and nodded knowingly through all of it. I love being in your head for these little SOCs.
    Peace, and being real with all our fur loved off,
    Mary

    • The longer I live on this gorgeous planet, the more I learn that sharing what’s in my head isn’t as scary as it used to be – partly because I care a little less what others think, and partly because there’s always a chance someone’s going to respond with a wonderful “me too” revelation like, “I still think my stuffed animals have feelings.” This is one of the blessings of honesty. Peace and realness to you, Mary. I’m so glad you enjoyed my stream of consciousness. 🙂

  2. Good for you! Why should we care what others think as if it is more important than what we ourselves think. I enjoyed your post and of course your “stuffies” have feelings. 🙂 ❤

  3. I adore that story. I used to have a cassette tape of it that was accompanied by music of George Winston and read by Meryl Streep. Worth seeking out if you like stories read aloud:-)

    • I have not listened to stories read aloud in quite some time, but I think I would love to listen to this one at bed time after a hard day. Thanks for the tip!

  4. I should shave my legs… thanks for the reminder, JoAnna. 😀
    Love the idea of loving something into real!

Feel free to comment!