Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Somewhere Out There

15 Comments

socs-badge

Yesterday, when I looked at today’s prompt “some/sum,” I had just been talking to my son who is 28 and single. He wonders if he is ever going to find a partner who’s a good fit for him.

I shared his woes, remembering my own questions on this topic a few years ago. I remember trying to be cynical or logical about how much I could do as a single woman, unfettered by a spouse.

But being human, I wanted a spouse, if I could find one who would be a good fit. I told my son about going outside at night and looking up at the stars and believing that there was someone out there for me, working on himself as I was working on myself. Getting ready for the right time.

What I didn’t tell my son, was that not only would I go out and look at the stars, I would sing this corny, sweet song, from the animated movie, An American Tale, about a little mouse who gets separated from his family. I don’t remember much about the movie, which came out around the time my son was a toddler, but I loved the song:
“Somewhere Out There……”

Four years ago, in June of 2011, when the time was right, my some one found me again.

I believe that somewhere out there is someone for my son. Someone who is a good fit, getting ready to meet him, when the time is right.

 

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday Post was “some/sum” If you’d like to join in the fun, visit:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/06/26/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-2715/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

15 thoughts on “Somewhere Out There

  1. Aww. How very sweet. I love that song.

  2. I love that song too. 🙂

  3. Oh my, I remember the song and the movie, I must have been around six at the time. What a trip down memory lane, so sweet. ❤

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed the trip 🙂 ❤

  5. I am another one who loves that song. It gives me hope that there is someone out there for me as well. I won’t give up hope. I get worried sometimes, as I enter my thirties, but I work on myself as I wait for him.

  6. After being married 20 years, I thought that was it for me. But I was 55 when I found the love of my life. Keep on believin’ ! And keep on loving yourself in the meantime!

  7. I love that song too 🙂 Your son will find someone, because there is someone for everyone. You’re right in telling him to work on himself…when he’s not looking for love, that usually when it finds you.

  8. Yep. That’s how it usually works. Thanks for the encouragement.

  9. What a lovely, hopeful post, JoAnne. There should be someone out there for all of us… 🙂

Feel free to comment!