Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

SoCS: Prime Time on TV and in Nature

16 Comments

Lower Cascades at Hanging Rock State Park

Today’s prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “prime.” Use it as an adjective or a verb, use it any way you’d like. Have fun!

Remember when prime time on TV really mattered? Back when I was a kid, in my teens, and even into my early twenties, we had three TV channels. In the daytime, there were mostly soap operas – daytime dramas that my mom loved, or kid shows. At night from 8pm till 11, were the really good TV shows. My first favorite was Lassie, then later Walt Disney’s Wonderful World of Color, and then Star Trek in the late 60s.

When I was a teenager, the idea that you would someday be able to record at TV show and watch it later was mind blowing. I could not even imagine having over 100 tv channels to choose from. My dad watched primetime TV and sometimes we liked the same things, like MASH and Rat Patrol set in the desert in WW2 I think.

Now that I’m in the prime of my old age, I still like to watch TV during prime time. It’s a habit. Star Trek is on a channel called Heroes and Icons 6 nights a week, though I might watch a movie or Big Bang Theory if I’ve seen the ST episode a gazillion times and it’s not one of my favorites. I’m almost always on the internet at the same time I’m watching TV, switching back and forth depending on what I’m watching. Except when I’m streaming Picard or Brave New Worlds on my laptop. Then the TV might be on silent in the background.

When I was in my twenties and in college, one of the people who had a lot of parties at their house always had the TV on with the volume down while we had music playing. TV is a bit of an addiction I inherited from my dad. I should read more besides when I go to bed at night. Maybe I’ll bring a book into the living room.

It’s nice to be retired and in the prime of my old age so I can do what I want. Mostly.

On Monday, we went to Hanging Rock – the mountains away from the mountains. It’s a small mountainous area in the piedmont of NC. We rented a cabin for two nights and hiked the lower cascades trail in Hanging Rock State Park. Even though I went down the steep steps and rocks slowly and carefully due to osteoporosis risks, I LOVED the trail and the lower cascades. My daughter asked me, “Are you smitten?” I said, “Yes.” Thanks to my husband David for being in charge of Marley since I’d have a hard time walking on that trail while holding the leash. On our second night at the cabin, right after bedtime we heard coyotes howling. They started with howling, then some yipping, then an eerie mix that’s hard to describe. It was great. Still, I’m glad it didn’t last too long.

The whole time we were at the cabin, I didn’t watch TV. Not even during prime time. I couldn’t figure out how to work the remotes and just let it go. So, see, I’m not really addicted.

Here are some of my favorite photos from Hanging Rock State Park’s lower cascades trail. My daughter had said it was an “easy” trail. The park website said it was, “moderate.” I think it was sort of in between. No, that’s not being honest. I think it was moderate. An easy trail would be mostly flat or have gentle slopes. This trail had a lot of steps.

Click each photo to see the entire image:

Being under the overhang which created a shallow cave felt primal. I imagined having a fire there and ate some berries remembering a meme that felt like me. I think I’ll share that in a One Liner Wednesday to come….

~~~

For more info on Stream of Consciousness Saturday,

visit our host Linda Hill

by clicking HERE.

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

16 thoughts on “SoCS: Prime Time on TV and in Nature

  1. Oh, your daughter and you look like sisters. Great pictures.

  2. A delightful post. You look justifiably pleased with yourself

  3. I am about the same age. Really loved this. I am retired and I have to have the TV break time even though you can watch the show anywhere. Two O’clock central I cannot miss General hospital….just started a few months ago. Used to watch in the 70’s…nothing has changed just a little more gray.

    • I’m so glad you loved the post. When so much is changing in the world around us, familiar TV shows are so comforting and dependable, like old songs. It’s good to have some constants that remain the same.

  4. What a beautiful landscape! Love the photos 🙂

  5. Fantastic muse and photo’s JoAnna… I so agree about being retired and enjoying our Prime Time in togetherness with those we love.
    So, so loved your photos xx ❤ xx

  6. Your pictures are beautiful, JoAnna. I remember the days of choosing between three channels, and if you missed the show, it was gone. My mother loved Rat Patrol – I think she had a thing for Christopher George – so we never missed that.

    • I’m so glad you liked the pictures, Dan. I don’t know what it was about Christohpher George, but he had something. Maybe it was the hat. They all wore different hats.

Feel free to comment!