Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Thursday Tree Love: Cypress Trees

20 Comments

Walking along the creek, my husband and I saw several cypress trees.  Their feathery leaves remind me of wild bushy hair, and their trunks flare at the bottom like skirts.

cypress w feathery leaves

 

I suspect these are “bald cypress” who like to live near water and sometimes even in swamps. Their knobby knees, which are actually roots, grow up out of the water.

cypress with knobs

 

As I lingered to take pictures, David walked a little ahead of me.

creek with cypress

More cypress trees on the right

 

He spied something dark near the creek bank and beckoned me to come see:

 

turtle w mud and algae

 

The turtle dressed in algae wanted privacy, so we didn’t stay long.

#ThursdayTreeLove is a photo feature hosted by Parul Thakur on the second and fourth Thursday of each month. For more tree love, visit:

https://www.happinessandfood.com/thursdaytreelove-89/

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

20 thoughts on “Thursday Tree Love: Cypress Trees

  1. So nice to visit and enjoy the smells and sights! I can easily drink in this scenery and enjoyed reading your descriptions of cypress and turtle attire 🙂

  2. Wow!! These pics are great!

  3. Loved the pictures JoAnna
    So much calmness about the whole setting 🙂

  4. Trees are so profoundly spiritual. ❤️

  5. Have a wonderful week ahead!💕☕️☕️

  6. A lovely walk indeed.. With so much beauty around, its difficult to not take photos and to actually walk ahead! Cypress leaves are really pretty!!

    • Thank you! I know what you mean about wanting to take more photos and also wanting to just walk and enjoy the scenery. Sometimes it’s nice to just stop and breathe it all in. I’m glad you enjoyed the cypress leaves. 🙂

  7. The turtle is so cute and I love how beautiful your trail walk would have been. I love these kind of trails. There is so much to see and enjoy. Thank you so much for joining. I hope to see you back on the 25th.

Feel free to comment!