Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

The Bees Are Coming!

12 Comments

SOC winner 2017

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt is, “grill.”

Grill. Gerill. Gorilla. Gorillas are vegetarians mostly. Like me. They eat fruit and leaves and occasionally they eat bugs. I don’t eat bugs. I never want to eat bugs. Never. Ever. I love the taste of food cooked on the grill but haven’t done that at home in a long time. Our old grill is quite weathered. But I keep saying we should grill some veggies on it. Eggplant, corn, squash… But it’s easier to eat out. I don’t think we are going to grill this weekend. My husband is getting ready to take some bees out of the wall in our church and we’re making a place for them in our backyard. It’s quite an adventure I’m looking forward to.

A small dilemma is that I’m inching ever closer to becoming vegan. And vegans don’t eat honey. I’m gonna research humane bee keeping. I know there’s someone out there raising bees without smoking them. Sending smoke into the hive apparently calms them down so you can work with them. You are after all stealing their honey.  But I want to support my hubby in this interest and endeavor. Plus, the bees have to come out of the church wall and go somewhere. Our church music director is allergic to bee stings, so they definitely can’t stay at church.  I’d like to make friends with them. Bees are fascinating and I’m only just starting to learn about them.

I could not resist the urge to go hunting for articles on humane bee keeping. So look what I found!

Can You Be A Vegan Bee Keeper?

I’m not sure I agree with everything in this article. It’s one of those gray areas to explore. But I am not the beekeeper and my husband is not the aspiring vegan, so I can observe, and support, and learn, and continue to be imperfect.

So don’t grill me!

For more Streams of Consciousness, visit Linda at:

https://lindaghill.com/2018/05/25/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-26-18/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

12 thoughts on “The Bees Are Coming!

  1. I hope he relocates them successfully.

  2. I used to keep bees with my husband as a business and we got many hives this way. Smoking the bees is not inhumane. The smoke tells them to go back and gorge on honey in case their hive is about to be lost. At that time they are all bunched together and busy eating honey, not protecting the hive and so are docile. They also crowd around the Queen to protect her. This is the only way you can successfully move a hive AND be nice to them! Without smoke you have 100,000 angry bees flying around.
    Bees today are not wild bees, They have been bred to collect honey. We add empty boxes so they keep expanding their brood below and collecting more honey than they need. We always leave enough honey for the bees…… stealing honey so they starve would be counter-productive. You want healthy, honey-fed bees.
    Don’t think that beekeepers don’t care about their bees. They are as much livestock as cows or chickens. It’s very sad to see them sick or die. Beekeepers love their bees!

  3. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your grand bee adventure.

    • Thanks for joining me in the excitement, Deborah! We were hoping for Monday but the weather might not be right. I’ll post some photos after we move them.

  4. Oh, my, good luck with the bee moving! I’m really a novice when it comes to different eating styles, and admit I’d be the first to not have a clue that honey wouldn’t be something a vegan could eat? Very interesting. I also thought honey is so good for us, isn’t it? I’ll be back to see how the honey and bee story unfolds! Enjoy your weekend!

    • A vegetarian would probably eat honey, but vegans do not eat animal products, even those made by animals including milk, eggs, and honey. I’m not there yet. Yes, honey, especially local honey, is good for us. Maybe if I know where it comes from – a small operation – I will eat some. It’s the over-crowded factory farms I object to the most. Some people just do meatless Mondays. Every little bit helps for the planet and the animals. I hope that’s not too much information. Thanks for the good wishes. I hope you have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  5. I am very interested to find out how you navigate the bee keeping and vegan world. I think that eating vegan should be like anything else, you should be able to do it however you want to and shouldn’t have to be confined to certain rule.

  6. I hope this works out. Take the advice, modify as necessary and write your own story. It’s a good thing you’re doing.

Feel free to comment!