Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Clutter, Treasure, and Ceiling Art

33 Comments

(Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was to “start with a noun.”) 

Clutter is what I’m going to be dealing with tomorrow at my parents’ house that is now my house, so the clutter is all mine. My plan is to get up early and hitch a ride with my husband who has business an hour north of their house (now my other house) which is an hour north of where I live. I don’t mean to be confusing, but my stream of consciousness can easily be confusing.

Sometimes it’s hard to tell if the clutter is trash or treasure. There are books, many of which I’ve already donated, and lots and lots of paper which might need to be recycled or shredded, or treasured as in the case of the letters I found from my father or the poetry written by my mother’s father who I never met. So many electronics, cassette tapes, rubber bands, gadgets and doodads of my dad’s…. and photographs galore. Photos are in photo albums, boxes, bags… Many photos contain people who’s identity I have no clue about. I’m going to trash those. Sorry, unknown friends of my parents. But some photos are treasures like these two I discovered in a box somewhere or maybe a photo album and brought home with me.

JoAnne and Dad Dec 1965 (2)

When me and Dad both got watches for Christmas  ? 1963

Mom JoAne Mary Kaye 1967 (2)

And this one you might remember of my mom, my little sister and me. Dad was in Vietnam

Sometimes the process of going through my parents’ stuff/clutter/treasure is overwhelming. But it’s getting easier as I make progress. After one year, I think I’m about halfway done. I usually find I don’t want to leave their house to go to my house. There’s so much to do. But I like to congratulate myself for each bag of trash discarded, or treasures found, or items donated.

Another thing I do at my parents’ old house is painting over the most obvious blemishes. But one person’s blemish is another person’s treasured message. Like the water damage stains on the bedroom ceiling from before Dad put the metal roof on. I think they look like hearts.  They appeared there not long after Mom died. I think she had something to do with it.

hearts on the ceiling

Painting over these hearts was very hard. I had a good cry after I started the process. But it was a cleansing cry, and Mom told me it was okay. I started with kilz? and then white paint just to see how off it would be. Then I laid down to rest on the bed and noticed my sample white paint kinda looked like an angel. I did not plan this at all. It was just getting paint up there. Mom collected angels and has passed this down to me, so I’ve been painting angels for a few years now, just not usually on ceilings.

angel on the ceiling

Do you see an angel?

I guess white is not going to work on this old ceiling. One step, one layer at a time, I sort out the treasures from the clutter.

I’m posting this early since I’ve got my work cut out for me on Saturday. Catch you later.

SOC winner 2017

For more information about Stream of Consciousness Saturday, visit Linda at:

https://lindaghill.com/2018/06/08/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-9-18/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

33 thoughts on “Clutter, Treasure, and Ceiling Art

  1. I suppose one person’s trash is another’s treasure. The hearts are intriguing

  2. Ah…been there, done that, it is a long project to clear out someone else’s belongings. Your post brought back a flood of memories. I feel for you and wish you well as you continue on with the journey. Mine isn’t over, 7 years ago I wasn’t done with the project, but sold the house, and moved everything to my garage. There are still boxes I’m finding…Sigh! I wish you a successful weekend!

    • Thank you, Shelley, for your understanding and encouragement. Maybe it’s a good thing I don’t have room to move stuff here. Making progress!

  3. Those water stains do indeed look like two hearts. Emotions galore ❤
    When our memories are tied to our private spaces and things we have shared, letting go is oh so hard to do.

  4. It’s a hard thing to do, going through loved ones things left behind. So many memories. Our garage is full of things I just can’t bear to get rid of. So nice to find photos and letters, though. 🙂

    • It is nice to find the treasures. I understand about not bearing to get rid of things. Our garage is full of my husband’s tools and projects, so no room there. I guess that’s why it’s taking me so long. So many items I just hold in my hand and ponder. But I am making progress. Thank you!

  5. It’s a hard task – I wish you luck, and I hope you have time so that you don’t have to rush.

  6. I DO see an angel. But of course, your hand has a way of creating those no matter the medium 🙂
    It’s a lot of work, and you’re right to consider every task an accomplishment.

  7. Your real story here is quite precious. I’m glad you go to cry, as that can be so therapeutic – and how beautiful the treasures, and the stains of memory are. Touching 💗 the valuables live on in you!

  8. My mother just did this with her mother’s things, my Grammy, she needed to do it quickly, I would have gone much slower but would have held onto too much and would not have been able to donate/trash as many things. I think this is why she needed to go quickly or else everything would still be here. I see your angel and I loved the hearts ❤

  9. Yes I see an angel.. And I think you maybe right about your Mom putting those hearts there.. But I am also sure she would approve of the Angel 🙂 and the cleansing cry..
    Letting go of memories that have been collected over the years is hard.. We have started clearing out many things of ours.. and I know what you mean, You stop and hold the item in your hand, and you remember when it was bought .
    I still have things my children made me at school..
    I wonder when the time comes what their memories will be, when they hold it in their hands.. For I can’t part with these precious things just yet.. 🙂
    LOVE to you JoAnna..
    Take your time, step by step, and the clearing and cleaning process both in and out will happen.. ❤ xxx ❤

  10. My heart is with you friend as you do this unenviable task of sorting…knowing what to keep/what to discard. The one thing you will always keep is their love inside you heart. A giant hug to you…and yes…the Angel!!! 🙂 🙂

  11. I love the hearts. I had to go through all my parent’s belongings in their house after my father passed away and my stepmother moved to an assisted living center. I found photos stashed in the attic and was regretful I hadn’t found them sooner, when my dad was alive, to ask who some of those people in the photos were.

  12. Pingback: Highly Sensitive | Anything is Possible!

Feel free to comment!