Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Just Another Wave of Grief

27 Comments

April Evening Wave

 

I used to be good at math.

Now, the numbers get tangled up

With tax brackets and grief

Falling from my family tree

To cover the ground

Like dried up stars.

I have so much to be thankful for.

So much to be thankful for.

So much to be thankful for:

A good man who loves me

Who came before my father died,

That retirement gives me time

To deal with all this….

Is this just another wave of grief?

Holidays on the horizon?

Feeling my feelings more easily?

Now that I don’t have to be strong

All the time?

Is it just grief and the new role

as the senior family member

Against the backdrop of

All I have to be thankful for.

All I have to be thankful for.

All I have to be thankful for.

It must be time for a gratitude list.

(I started writing this Monday night and feel better now with some perspective.)

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

27 thoughts on “Just Another Wave of Grief

  1. Hope it gets better for you ❀❀

  2. I think sunshine is just around the corner πŸ™‚ Have a good week!

  3. Perhaps the writing helped. I hope so

  4. Indeed, writing is like a therapy.!
    Have a good day.🌸🌸

  5. Mmm, I sympathize with you. I am glad the writing seems to have helped. A positive perspective is hard to match with grief. Sending you ((((HUGS))))

  6. Good morning friend
    You are stronger than you know. What you are feeling is what we all feel, a good thing, the blessing is we can feel. There are some many empty hearted people, it gives me every opportunity remember how blessed my life is.
    I can see you smiling today. Another great feeling we get to enjoy.
    M

  7. Sometimes, JoAnna, it’s in our darkest moments that we find our strength. Hold on to blessings each day brings and that good man in your life. A big hug ❀

  8. I’m sorry you’ve suffered loss but just tonight I read an interesting passage how our grief is an important part of being human. Sometimes our cultures deny real grief and then despair and depression set in. You seem to be bearing up to this and being so honest to share the waves with us. Take care.

  9. Beautiful Joanne. I’m enjoying your book tremendously by the way. Xoxo

  10. Sometimes climbing back up to a higher frequency is difficult, because it is easy to get lost in the densities of this life. Thank you for this.

  11. Keep writing dear,it will sooth your mind and soul πŸ’•.

  12. Keep riding your waves dear JoAnna.. They may often crash upon the shore, but they recede again and while you may find movement in the sand. Your feet are firmly planted for you are stronger than you know.. Sending Love.. ❀

Feel free to comment!

