Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Tree Limbs > Limbo Rock > Limbo Tree

18 Comments

socsbadge2016-17

Okay, so you probably know I’m a tree-hugger. Literally. I hug trees. Not all the time, but when the feeling comes to me, more so in the winter when there are less likely to be bugs crawling on the trees, but sometimes when a hurricane is coming. It’s quite possible that some people in my neighborhood think of me as the “crazy tree lady.” They would if they knew how I feel. But maybe they can tell because I probably have more trees surrounding my little urban cottage than anyone else in the neighborhood.

It’s not like I never trim them. I do occasionally lop off a limb here and there. Back when I used to work with a lot of court ordered clients in my old job, privacy was very important to me, and I planted extra trees in front of my house. Several years ago, more like many years ago as time flies, I planted a cedar out on the city easement in front of my house in between the oak tree and the crepe myrtle. It started out as a little thing, a rescued seedling. Now it’s large, maybe 20 feet tall and sits right in line with my front door, with wide arms like a sentry, joining forces, and probably roots, with the oak and the crepe myrtle. On the outside is a little mimosa I planted and a sassafras which volunteered, and I let it stay. These five trees line up on a strip of earth about 50 feet long in front of my house between the sidewalk and the road. Maybe you think that’s crazy. And to be honest, I wish I’d pulled up that sassafras and moved it when it was little. And now that I’m not paranoid anymore about my privacy, I wish I never planted the cedar in the middle.

But I love the cedar, cause I love trees. I’ve trimmed back some of the limbs that scrape the  cars when we park them on the street and the ones that wack people in the face. There’s one more limb I need to trim because when it rains, the weight of the water brings it down to my face, otherwise it’s a reasonable height.  I’m going to have my husband cut that limb in the winter when I  think maybe the tree is sleeping. That’s when I will, might, pull up the little oak seedlings, when their sleeping. Better yet, I’ll have someone else do it.

In the meantime, maybe I’ll play limbo with the cedar arm that lowers to my face level in the rain. Remember limbo?  The idea is to go under the limbo stick without turning your head. Form a line when the stick is high and after everyone has gone under, the stick is lowered. If you fall backwards, or touch the stick, you’re out. This was a popular party game and PE exercise in the late 60s. I wasn’t that good at it, but it was still fun. You had to be limber to win.

Here’s the song that went with the game:

In listening to the song, I heart “limbo tree,” and looked that up. There’s actually a gumbo limbo tree with bark that looks like irritated, peeling skin. The bark of the tree has medicinal properties that are good for skin irritations. Hmmm. Isn’t that interesting? A coincidence? I think not.

 

Today’s prompt for Saturday Stream of Consciousness was, “limb.”

Find out other ways “limb” enters the stream of consciousness by visiting our host, Linda Hill at:

https://lindaghill.com/2017/07/28/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-2917/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

18 thoughts on “Tree Limbs > Limbo Rock > Limbo Tree

  1. I know how you feel about trees! We have had to take out two at our home – very sad to do it we couldn’t have them taking over the whole garden. We have a protected Milk Wood tree in the garden which I love and I’m afraid with this one there really isn’t any room for others. Lots of work still to get the garden to how we want it.

    • Yep. There’s only so much room. Sometimes it helps me to remember that in nature, there’s some kind of natural selection process and every seedling that pops up cannot thrive in a limited space. Thank you for your comment and appreciation of trees!

  2. I wish one of my neighbors would take note of this post. They have a tree that has a dead branch pointing out over the sidewalk, at eye level if you’re my height.

    • Wow. And I thought I was bad. If a branch is dead, I have no problem getting rid of it. Maybe you could hang a sign on it. “Please remove this dead branch.” Or you could have a limbo party and don’t forget to invite the neighbors, especially the tall ones. Good luck!

  3. Trees are my friends 🙂

  4. Love trees too. Sounds like you have a nice collection of them out front. That’s an interesting name, Gumbo Limbo.

    • Isn’t it? I never heard of it til the SOC took me there. I also have a dogwood and mimosas in the front plus another cedar. In the back, I have more mimosas, maples, pines, maybe some oaks, lots of cherry laurel, two sycamores, a couple of magnolias way in the back, and countless unidentified saplings on our half acre. I planted an avocado tree out there last fall, thinking it would probably not survive the winter, but this spring the base sprouted a shoot that’s over a foot tall now. I will try to cover it like people do with banana trees here in the winter. Didn’t mean to run on. You can tell I love my little urban forest. I’m glad you love trees, too, Deborah.

  5. I was always good at limbo when I was a kid. Now, not so much.
    Your tree-filled yard sounds divine, JoAnna. 🙂

  6. That’s really neat, the medicinal properties 🙂

  7. Love the insight into your cedar tree and the link to limbs and limbo! Trees are great but sometimes those branches branch out too far!

Feel free to comment!

