Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Yoga Behind Bars #WATWB

34 Comments

Volunteer yoga teachers go to 16 prisons, jails, and detention centers to offer yoga to inmates. Learn more from this inspiring video:

For more information, visit:

http://yogabehindbars.org/

We are the world white badge

We Are The World seeks to share positive news stories on the last Friday of each month.

GUIDELINES:

1. Keep your post to below 500 words, as much as possible.

2. All we ask is you link to a human news story on your blog on the last Friday of each month, one that shows love, humanity and brotherhood.

3. Join us on the last Friday of each month in sharing news that warms the cockles of our heart. No story is too big or small, as long as it goes beyond religion and politics, into the core of humanity.

4. Place the WE ARE THE WORLD Badge on your sidebar, and help us spread the word on social media. Tweets, Facebook shares, G+ shares using the #WATWB hashtag through the month most welcome. More Blogfest signups mean more friends, love and light for all of us.

5. We’ll read and comment on each others’ posts, get to know each other better, and hopefully, make or renew some friendships with everyone who signs on as participants in the coming months.

6. To signup, add your link in WE ARE THE WORLD Linky List below.

 

To join the “We Are The World” click here.

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

34 thoughts on “Yoga Behind Bars #WATWB

  1. YBB – that’s a pretty impressive initiative thanks for sharing it JoAnna.

  2. Prisons are hardly ever places of positive improvement– this initiative will help inmates to regain their lives and dignity. I like WATWB because I come to know of initiatives like this one. Thanks for sharing, Joanna.

    • That’s what drew me to this post. We need to know about these pockets of hope. So happy to share. Thanks for being part of this, Damyanti.

  3. Joanne, this made me smile through and through. As a yoga practitioner and someone who has held a position in Corrections for many years, this does my heart good. Yoga is so good for the mind, body and soul when practiced regularly. It’s a great stress reliever and a way for these inmates to stay in the present and let go of their past troubles. Excellent piece. Thank you for sharing and I’ll be sharing this on FB and Twitter.

    • It did my heart good, too, to see inmates embracing yoga. I recently returned to a weekly class after several years of lackadaisical stretching. Now my body seems to yearn for yoga. Thanks for sharing.

  4. This is a lovely post. Thank you for sharing positivity with us through this blog fest. I have heard of similar programs happening here in India as well.

  5. Sounds like a nice idea. 🙂

  6. This is such a positive initiative – you can literally feel how expansive and transformative yoga can be in such situations. It genuinely makes my heart happy to know of the existence of this program – thanks for bringing it to our attention this month!

  7. That’s very impressive. I nice gesture, for sure.

  8. hey lovely I just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award over on my blog! x

  9. I think this is a wonderful idea… should consider it in more prisons.

    Godyears.net

  10. Hi JoAnna – that will give the prisoners another way to look at life, let alone help them tone up and improve their well-being … brilliant idea … cheers Hilary

  11. This looks like a fantastic program, I wish they offered it at my husband’s facility. One of the biggest thing he’s lacking is quiet time for really center himself spiritually, he’s constantly surrounded by chaos.

    • I can imagine. From what I’ve heard about prison, it’s very hard to relax there. Maybe he could ask if they could have something like this. If not yoga, then meditation classes. I’d use anger/stress management benefits as a selling point. I wonder if they have church services.

  12. oh! How inspiring is this! Such a wonderful idea. It would make such a positive impact on prisoner’s life.
    I am a yoga instructor from India and new blogger here, would love to connect with u. Already inspired and a follower. 🙂

  13. This is good to hear, JoAnna. I have heard of other instances of Yoga or meditation in prisons. I hope it spreads. Thanks for sharing https://playoffthepage.com/2017/07/we-are-the-world-blogfest-july-2017/#comment-53083

Feel free to comment!

