Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

What’s That Crawling on the Ceiling?

24 Comments

spider on the ceiling

Just a friendly visitor

I’m not a fan of staring at the ceiling, though I’ve certainly done my share. When I was a teenager, I had posters on my bedroom ceiling, and the walls were covered with posters. I think my ceiling had a “Let it Be,” poster with a serene water scene, and the words, “Let it Be,” across the bottom.

Now, I have no posters on the ceiling, but there are a few stars left on my daughter’s old bedroom ceiling. Some have fallen off and left that sticky stuff. Maybe I’ll put more stars up there. It’s my studio now, so I can do what I want with it!

I wonder how bugs walk on the ceiling. Some are better at it than others. I don’t mind spiders so much on the ceiling. Spiders catch other bugs. Spiders are interesting. But if I can reach them, I’ll catch them in a glass and slide a card underneath. But there are some bugs I do mind on my ceiling, and I don’t catch them and put them outside. I spray them and get ready to run in case they fly at me. I’m talking about the big palmetto roaches we call water bugs. Where I live, the summers are hot and humid, and they (the bugs) are prolific. I wish I wasn’t afraid of them, but I’ve been knows to scream when they fly at me.  I think this fear is something that has been passed on through generations.

Enough of the scary bugs! I’d rather think about stars on the ceiling. A skylight would be nice! But I wonder if I’d see the bugs crawling on the skylight. STOP THINKING ABOUT BUGS!

Maybe a poster on the ceiling would be better. Like the “Let it Be Poster.” When I find myself in times of trouble, Mother Mary comes to me, speaking words of wisdom, let it be.  I will let the spiders be. Sorry roaches. STOP IT!

My favorite ceiling would be outside under the real stars. You won’t see any bugs crawling on that ceiling. And if I stay close to the campfire, they might not crawl on me.  Maybe if I was outside, I’d just brush them off and not be afraid of them as much.

Let it be. Let it be. Let it be. Let it be. Whispered words of wisdom, let it be…..

Some bugs don’t scare me at all. Here are a few other friendly visitors I’ve discovered in and around my house.

spotted moth in bathroom

A visitor in my bathroom two summers ago.

spider in the kitchen w plate.JPG

This beauty took up temporary residence in the kitchen.

 

tiny-t-moth.jpg

Tiny critter on the back screen door

Moth bright

A lovely surprise on the back porch

cicada molting

Cicada molting at my front door a few nights ago.

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was: “sealing/ceiling.” Use one, use both, have fun! For more SoCS fun, visit our host, Linda Hill at:

https://lindaghill.com/2017/07/21/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-2217/

socsbadge2016-17

Here are the SoCS rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

24 thoughts on “What’s That Crawling on the Ceiling?

  1. Nice post for the prompt! We’re kind to most bugs that find their way in. Catch and release outside usually works. Ours tend to be pretty small.

  2. Wow. You have quite the collection of buggy things there…

  3. The kitchen spider is somewhat cool and very pretty. Then again, I’d rather not have him crawling on the kitchen counters or among the forks and spoons. Nice photos and response to the prompt!

  4. big palmetto roaches we call water bugs. – yes, I’d scream involuntarily too!

  5. Those water bugs we get, too. I don’t like them at all. Spiders are cool, though. I do the catch and release with them, most times. Otherwise, just take a photo and leave them to their work of catching bad bugs! 🙂 Great photos of yours!

  6. I’m with you about the bugs!!! UGH!!! Especially the palmettos! Thank God I’ve not seen one fly yet! Great post for this prompt! 😊

  7. I try to catch bugs a lot and let them go out too. Is the Palmetto the same as a “date bug.” I saw one out in Palm Desert on a wall in a bathroom. I swear when it walked I heard a clicking sound from it’s feet. I ran out of the bathroom. Someone said, “Oh yeah, that’s a Date Bug. ” They explained they call it a Date Bug because it is as big as date. I think I might try to catch it nowadays but I did not know they fly. I had a huge flying beetle land on me when I was driving once and I almost had an accident.

    • The one’s here do look very much like dates in size and color, with hairy legs and tiny heads. Ick. I often use a cedar or citrus bug spray on them, but if I find one trapped in a jar or something, I’ll take it outside. Thankfully, I don’t see them in the winter or early spring. I don’t mind beetles much, but having one land on me when driving could be dangerous. Glad you didn’t have an accident. Thanks for catching and releasing.

  8. Love the shots. I’m a bit of a fan of insects.

  9. Hi, Joanna! If you like challenges, I’ve started a new one – this is the 3rd installment. People are seeming to like it. You might be interested in checking it out. It’s called Manic Mondays _ using song titles to inspire posts! https://flipflopseveryday.wordpress.com/2017/07/23/manic-monday-3-challenge-kicks/

    • It does look like a lot of fun. I usually take Mondays off from blogging, but I am tempted. Thanks for the invitation! Maybe I’ll join in one Monday.

  10. I like setting bugs and spiders outside, too. Sometimes I let them out in the hallway, hoping they will follow someone going outside. I live about ten doors down a hallway from the door. I let a grasshopper out in the hall and a cricket both within a week of each other. 🙂

Feel free to comment!

