Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

On Your Mark, Get Set…..STOP!

19 Comments

 

socsbadge2016-17

SoCS prompt: “ick”

So, I had this post all done about my book being published. All excited and everything. And I found another snag. Another technical glitch which has to do with publishing under my maiden name. When I discovered the error, I felt that icky feeling in my stomach.

I thought about using the post I had written about my icky rebound from hell being the ickiest part of the book, and all the things I learned from that relationship, but then I realized: I can’t edit! It’s SOC. So I’m starting from scratch.

If it’s not one thing, it’s another.

But the thing is, my book is available. That’s like a whisper. It was going to be a holler with a happy dance. So this is like a very soft book launch. I don’t want to do the holler until the glitch is fixed. It’s a minor thing, really.

But life is like that sometimes. Sometimes there’s a holler with a happy dance, and sometimes there’s a steady, slow slide into the process of whatever it is – growing up, falling in love, getting older – and then, it’s there in all it’s glory or all it’s hollering, or gnashing of teeth.

So I guess this is really about persevering though the ickiness. Publishing a book is not quick. Not for me anyway. But it is happening. And I will be hollering and dancing.

Thanks to all my blogging friends for your patience and support!

And thanks to Linda G. Hill for hosting the Saturday Stream of Consciousness. For more information, visit:

https://lindaghill.com/2017/07/07/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-817/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

19 thoughts on “On Your Mark, Get Set…..STOP!

  1. Congratulations! It is exciting. 🙂

  2. Congrats on the book release, even if there was a glitch.

  3. I will shout with you when you’re ready to shout 🙂

    • ❤ Thank you. I was dancing and shouting in my head til I saw the glitch. I'm probably overly worried about it, but anyway, I'm working up to shouting and dancing again and will let you know! 🙂

  4. Congratulations and good post!

  5. Amazing!!!!

  6. This is wonderful exciting news JoAnna.. and I am sure this little blip will soon be put right.. 🙂 Congratulations xx ❤

  7. Congratulations, Joanna! ❤️ When I published my book of poetry, it was not easy…..
    and sometimes a whisper is all I could do. There are those moments that seem to hold us back but once we break through, it all goes with the current, and we are moving in that wonderful direction, along with all the healing and the awesome love that is given to us.

    • Your understanding means so much to me. I’ve come a long way with technology, but sometimes I feel so frustrated. It helps to know I am not alone, and that even with the snag I’ve spent the last hour untangling, that the current is moving in that wonderful direction! Bless you, Ka! ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. Congratulations on your now-successful book launch, JoAnna!

    I’m getting a big kick out of the idea of Stream of Consciousness Saturday (primarily laughing at myself)! I have a tendency to send Stream of Consciousness e-mails to colleagues at work when I let the ideas in my brain run wild. However, I do proofread and edit them first. As far as the Stream of Consciousness Saturday, I would feel as exposed as if I were naked in public.

    • Thanks, Liz. I really enjoy SoCS. I think my content is more interesting when I don’t censor myself, though it’s a challenge sometimes not to edit.

Feel free to comment!

