Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Good New Tuesday: Giving Food Away

8 Comments

We don’t have to waste food. This company sets an example that all companies can follow.

 

Three ways to avoid throwing food away:

  1. Eat it before it goes bad.
  2. Give it away while it’s still good.
  3. Compost it.  (Now, if we could just recycle all those plastic containers!)

Sunflower w address

Got good news?

Please share in the comments or link back here, whether it’s global, local, or personal!

 

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “Good New Tuesday: Giving Food Away

  1. Excellent, so pleased to see others are doing the same and waking up to the huge amounts of wastage.. And here is a link that shows you how some supermarkets here are doing just that too..
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/09/21/look-inside-the-uks-first-food-waste-supermarket/

    Sending You love.. Sue xxx ❤

    • Thanks for the love and the link! The mission where my husband works gets more bread donated than they can usually give away. Maybe bread is being overproduced. And I agree that expiration dates are subjective. Glad this supermarket is using their own judgment on those. Love to you, my friend! xxx

  2. Starbucks takes a lot of bashing from people, but as a large corporation, they really do make an effort to support the communities where they operate. Kudos to them and I wish more food outlets shared this vision.

    • I wish, too. No body’s perfect, and we need to recognize when someone, or some corporation does something good. Thanks for supporting them on this!

  3. Wonderful!
    I take another route and feed my outdoor critters. I do compost, but we create more compost than I can spin and use, so I feed my birds and squirrels daily, and I feed them away from the garden, in aim to distract them from the garden, and it seems to work. Not much left of actual food round here, too many people, but the scraps are quite yummy for the critters.

Feel free to comment!

