Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

The Peace of Wild Things

11 Comments

One of my favorite poems of all time.

Maverick Mist

The Peace of Wild Things by Wendell BerryWhen despair for the world grows in me and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children's lives may be, I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

View original post

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

11 thoughts on “The Peace of Wild Things

  1. Love Wendell Berry!! Thanks for this!

  2. Thank you for sharing JoAnna… love and hugs will go and read the whole original now xxx ❤

  3. Beautiful. Poem brings a ‘peace’ all of its own!

  4. What a beautiful statement of presence, and the sheer beauty of what is right here with us in our madness…

    Michael

Feel free to comment!

