Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Call Me When You’re Sober.

8 Comments

Song Lyric Sunday

Today’s theme for Song Lyric Sunday was to post a song about alcohol. I wasn’t sure if I could offer anything since I don’t drink anymore having already done my share. But then I remembered this song by Evanescence. (One of the benefits of having a teenage daughter during the post-divorce years was being exposed to cool bands.)  “Call Me When You’re Sober,” written by Amy Lee and Terry Balsam, was one of my healing songs after the rebound from hell and reinforced my right to set boundaries and keep myself safe.

Don’t cry to me.
If you loved me,
You would be here with me.
You want me,
Come find me.
Make up your mind.

Should I let you fall?
Lose it all?
So maybe you can remember yourself.
Can’t keep believing,
We’re only deceiving ourselves .
And I’m sick of the lie,
And you’re too late.

Don’t cry to me.
If you loved me,
You would be here with me.
You want me,
Come find me.
Make up your mind.

Couldn’t take the blame.
Sick with shame.
Must be exhausting to lose your own game.
Selfishly hated,
No wonder you’re jaded.
You can’t play the victim this time,
And you’re too late.

Don’t cry to me.
If you loved me,
You would be here with me.
You want me,
Come find me.
Make up your mind.

You never call me when you’re sober.
You only want it cause it’s over,
It’s over.

How could I have burned paradise?
How could I – you were never mine.

So don’t cry to me.
If you loved me,
You would be here with me.
Don’t lie to me,
Just get your things.
I’ve made up your mind.

(From azlyrics.com)

 

 

Song lyric Sunday is brought to you by Helen at:

https://helenswordsoflife.com/2017/06/10/song-lyric-sunday-theme-for-61117/

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “Call Me When You’re Sober.

  1. How beautiful! I’m so glad that you set the boundaries; it seems to be a helpful aspect of life that we aren’t often taught how to do. It has to emerge from the inside, out of need or desperation, and often as a result of having our very spirit be challenged, our very survival. We have a right to keep ourselves safe. Your life is precious and bright, and I’m so glad that you guided yourself (and were guided) to a place of safety.

    • Thank you, Ka, for your affirming words and heart. Boundary setting was not easy for me. I still need to work at it. But it is often desperation that gives us the skill.

  2. My sister used to go back to this song every few days… Thanks for reminding me of her 🙂

  3. Bonjour ou Bonsoir JOANNA

    La plus belle des choses que tu possèdes

    Sait ce nouveau jour

    Alors sois heureux ou heureuse

    Aujourd’hui il est à toi

    Décide toi même de ce que tu veux faire

    Travail ou loisir

    Ce jour vis le , emplie le , chante lui ton bonheur

    Dis à ce jour que tu l’aimes et profite d’être là Pour Ce Jour

    Gros bisous Bernard

  4. I laughed out loud when I saw the song you had picked for this week. I’m getting to that point in my life where alcohol is causing me more pain then it’s worth. Evanescence is a great band and I love them. This is also one of their songs that I love. Thanks so much for sharing!

Feel free to comment!

