Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

A Pet Peeve and Other Admissions

26 Comments

socsbadge2016-17

I admit that I get annoyed with people who can’t admit they are wrong. Especially when they are wrong. It just makes me want to stay away from them. Being open-minded (when it comes to beliefs, and theories, and possibilities, but not as much about my own behavior anymore) tends to make me say things like, “I think…..” or “I believe….” instead of “This is the way it is.”

I’ve known a couple of people in my life who stated their opinions as indisputable fact. They were so sure sounding, that I almost started to doubt myself. Almost. I think (there, see) it was about the location of a certain agency that had moved. I knew they’d moved, but the other person said they were located at the old place. There was a policy change, too, that the other sure of herself individual didn’t know about. She stated the old policy as fact with great confidence. Of course, I just dropped that one. Except that in both cases I looked it up to make sure. Even though I knew I was right.

I admitted that I was powerless over other people and trying to have power over others has made my life unmanageable at times.  I know I need to focus on me.

I admit that I forget things sometimes, like where I put my checkbook, where I put my phone, that I’m not thirty something anymore, or 40 something, or even 50 something. But I remember the important things, like feeding the dogs, making sure the door is locked at night, checking the stove before I leave the house, and then checking it again, because maybe I was thinking about something when I checked it the first time and didn’t really LOOK at the knobs, and checking it one more time, just to be sure.

I admit that I’m a tree-hugger, and proud of it, and that I’m a Christian, but I don’t believe that stuff about women submitting to their husbands. That’s why I go to an Episcopal church.

Sometimes I think about calling myself a follower of Jesus, instead of a Christian, because “Christian” has such a negative connotation (in some circles) because of  people who can not admit they might be wrong and believe their truth is the only way. It’s so hard to love some people.

I admit that I don’t love everybody. But Jesus does. 😉 Even when we are too sure of ourselves, or forget to pray, or get irritated at arrogant people who think they know everything, like what Jesus looks like.

buddah and jesus

Well, I’ve been saying I want to be more authentic, so there you have it.

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was, “admit.” For more info, visit our host, Linda G. Hill:

https://lindaghill.com/2017/06/09/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-1017/

Here are the SOCS rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours. Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

26 thoughts on “A Pet Peeve and Other Admissions

  1. I have a friend who said several years ago that she calls herself a follower of Jesus, for the very reason you state. I think that’s a great way to label your faith.

    As for the people who can’t admit they are wrong, I feel sorry that they choose to live like this. I have never had an issue admitting mistakes and, in turn, have never lost the respect of friends, family and co-workers. To be honest and to admit mistakes is letting others know you are human and strong enough to take the consequences. Not admitting mistakes can only be a very heavy burden.

    • Excellent points! Respect is a key. If we can learn to respect each other, we will have a better world and better lives. Thank you for the affirmation.

  2. Wonderful perspective on faith of any kind. To say one way is the right way I’d not giving God or Jesus the ability to “know us” inside and out. Those who profess, sometimes are hiding inside negative thoughts. Those who are meek and mild may have the life of a super hero who loves and cares for the world! JoAnna, this was a beautiful post expressing so much of how I feel. We must try to be the best we can, help others as much as possible and love one another. Thanks for this comic, which I do feel a sense of humor helps get us through the crazy world we live in! 😀 😀

    • Thank you, Robin. I’m so glad you found this post beautiful. After I read it, I thought it was complaining, but it’s just what my SOC wanted to say. You affirmation means more than you know. I love your perspective of the meek and mild possibly having “he life of a superhero who loves and cares for the world.”

  3. I’d = is
    Oops, sorry!

  4. I loved this authenticity, JoAnna, and can relate to much of it. It’s hard for me, too, when I encounter people who are utterly certain, particularly to the point of snorting or scoffing at an opinion that differs from their own. All I feel I really know is that Love is the root, the wellspring, the underwriter of existence, and the particulars can at times be confounding. At times we need those who are decisive, at others those who are pain-staking. We need those who are engaged with activity, as well as those who are engaged with the quiet. It is so, so challenging to accept and love across all planes of experience and interpretation…

    Great post!

    Peace!
    Michael

    • Thank you, Michael, for your wisdom and your support. Love is the root, the wellspring, the underwriter of existence. I will remember that. I might even quote you on that. 🙂

  5. I find it hard if someone questions what I am saying if I know it to be a fact. It is very annoying. Probably better not to get into an argument. 🙂

  6. JoAnna, I share your sentiments when you say:

    “Sometimes I think about calling myself a follower of Jesus, instead of a Christian, because “Christian” has such a negative connotation (in some circles) because of people who can not admit they might be wrong and believe their truth is the only way. It’s so hard to love some people.”

    Over the years, I’ve learned to embrace the “truths” of each world religion. I believe that no religion can claim monopoly of the truth of who are are, why we exist, and what happens after we die.

    • Thank you, Rosaliene. You remind me of the story of the Blind Men and the Elephant. They all experience the elephant differently, but it’s the same elephant.

  7. Ha ha, this is great! I love your talk on religion! I don’t love everybody, either, but I’m grateful we have Jesus to pick up the slack:)

  8. thank you for baring it all
    for my benefit, JoAnna!
    refreshing to hear someones’
    honestly speaking their heart & mind
    inviting others to do likewise 🙂

  9. Excellent post.
    You’re what I call a Good Christian. I have to remind myself of the Good Christians because they’re kinda rare in my life. I keep thinking I’ll write a post about it, but for some reason even when I’m bashing Christian hypocrisy and picking on Christians, I always end up getting more Christians…
    I also struggle with those who can’t admit wrongs or even uncertainty. It’s up there with not accepting responsibility and lack of personal accountability — these all tend to go together. It’s a character issue. These are signs of lack of humility, and I find humility most endearing.
    The other day, when I wasn’t being perfect, I had forgotten to check the oven for contents before preheating. Bread bricks, anyone? lol

    • Thank you for recognizing that there are different kinds of Christians. I appreciate your feedback because I was a little anxious about this post worrying that I might get the my-way-or-go-to-hell Christians on my case. (The ones who kept away from church for so long.) Sometimes I wonder if labeling myself as an open-minded Christian and being so in love with nature gets me more (conservative?) Christian followers because they think I’m at risk. But I’m just being true to my heart. And my mind. I feel safer with people who have humility.

  10. Tree-hugger sounds wonderful! And I would happily admit that inspite of being in my 20s I forget more than I remember and have the annoying habit of double checking what I already remember. Fun times…

Feel free to comment!

