Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

I Can See Clearly Now

14 Comments

Song Lyric Sunday

When I saw today’s theme was to share a song surrounding a happy memory, I wanted to find one from 1972, the year I fell in love for the first time. When I looked at the list for the top 100 songs from that year, there were so many good ones! But it was the sad songs I remembered best. In 1972, My first love moved 700 miles away at the end of the school year.  “Precious and Few,” by Bread, was bittersweet, and Harry Nilsson’s “Without You,” made me wail.

Then, I came across “I Can See Clearly Now,” by Johnny Nash. It didn’t make a big impression on me when it came out in 72, but it has brought me comfort and affirmation over the years.

In 2003, I had just broken free from the blinding rebound from hell and was on a freedom road trip with my almost teenage daughter. We sang a lot on road trips back then. When I taught her Helen Reddy’s “I am Woman,” she was not as enthusiastic as I’d hoped, but maybe that’s because I sang it at the top of my lungs. On our way home, a rainbow appeared in front of us, and the song, “I Can See Clearly Now” came to me. Or maybe it came on the radio. Anyway, it became my victory song for that year. It packs a powerful dose of hope.

 

Today, my physical eyesight is not so clear, but my spirit can see clearly that things work out wonderfully when the time is right. I am grateful beyond words.

Song Lyric Sunday is brought to us by Helen at:

https://helenswordsoflife.com/2017/06/03/song-lyric-sunday-theme-for-6417/

where you’ll find more good memories.

 

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

14 thoughts on “I Can See Clearly Now

  1. Wishing you many a bright, sunny, shiny day. xo Harlon

  2. One of my favorites!!! Love the sunshine you created with this post 😉 Keep on seeing clearly, JoAnna!! ❤

  3. This was such a great post. Hope is such an amazing thing. The song is the perfect accompaniment. Thank you so much for sharing!

  4. Wonderful song! Thanks for sharing your memories! 🙂

  5. Yes! This song was my favorite too back in the 70’s. My faith was strong. The future looked promising. Thanks! Great memory.
    http://www.meinthemiddlewrites.com

Feel free to comment!

