Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Keeping Power in Stormy Weather

19 Comments

socsbadge2016-17

Today is day three of hurricane season. Whether we get a big storm or not, remains to be seen. September and October are usually the busiest times for hurricanes. I still have the urge to buy candles because I don’t want to run out. Several? many? years ago, Hurricane Floyd, I think it was Floyd… Let me look it up. Okay, Floyd hit North Carolina on September 16, 1999.  Or maybe it was Bertha in 1996. But what I do remember is being without electricity for over a week and running out of candles. Of course it could have been worse. Some people die in hurricanes. So I’m thankful for my life and my trees holding on.

You might have noticed that I wrote above we were without electricity. That’s my thing, to use the word electricity instead of power, so as not to give electricity so much power. I’ve written blogs and poems about it. So far, my campaign to say, “We lost electricity,” instead of, “We lost power,” has not caught on. But there’s always hope! I did hear one news reporter use the word electricity instead of power. Just once. I bet the higher ups in the news rooms prefer the use of “power” because it’s more dramatic to lose power than electricity. “Without power” sounds pretty scary. Unless you go to a 12 step perspective of powerlessness, because a higher power can help us with the scary stuff.

I am powerless over whether other people say electricity or power, but I will continue to say and write ELECTRICITY when I’m talking about the lights going out in a storm.

Do I have enough candles? Probably. But I might buy more. I’m guessing I have about, oh I don’t know, 20 big candles around the house, plus another 20 tea lights. Plus a couple of flashlights. Not that I’m worried.

I used to like little hurricanes that would close offices and give me time off work with only minor, minor damage. But now that I’m working from home, let’s just have reasonable weather. If only…

Here’s my latest poster on electricity and power in case you want to join the movement:

if we lose electricity

Today’s Stream of Consciousness Prompt was, whether/weather, brought to us by Linda G. Hill at:

https://lindaghill.com/2017/06/02/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-317/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

19 thoughts on “Keeping Power in Stormy Weather

  1. We are so lucky here in the UK not to get those huge storms that you do JoAnna.. And I smile and agree about the usage of Electricity instead of Power.. We do not want to give our Power away .. 🙂 in any form.. 🙂
    And candles are a good idea.. You can never have enough.. I always store them, as in winter we have in the past been without electricity for a week when snow brought the electricity cables down..
    Though since the climate has been changing, we have had milder wetter winters rather than as much snow..
    Who can deny that our World’s weather is changing..
    Sending love and hugs my friend..
    🙂 ❤

  2. PS.. I meant also to say.. Stay safe.. Much Love xx ❤

  3. We use battery-powered lanterns and flashlights, and I have several battery packs that I use to charge phones and other electronics. I keep them full in the event we lose power. I’m sorry, electricity.

  4. No hurricanes here so I do not have a suggestion other than please stay safe 🙂

  5. Severe weather is something I am glad to do without. We lose electricity when we get a heat wave here and the grid is overloaded or if a transformer is hit by lightening or some such thing. So we have a collection of flashlights we get out. Be safe in that hurricane weather. 🙂

  6. I like your take on that! We say we lose power, but I pay the light bill. Funny, huh?
    Yesterday the bulb went out in the fridge. The little one panicked in broad daylight! That kid hates it when the electricity goes out. I mean, it’s dark, there’s no wifi… lol I suspect the ‘power’ means more to her than it should.
    I’ve got three large candles and about twenty tea lights. I really have always wanted an oil lamp for the dining room. One day, I’ll find just the right one 🙂 You know all about that, waiting for the right thing to come along.

  7. I lost electricity for a few days during a snowstorm this winter. Normally, I enjoy it when that happens because it forces my boys to turn off their video games and do something interactive with me! However, this is the first year of our divorce and they just so happen to be at their dads during this time. I have to say, there’s nothing fun about being in a cold, extremely quiet, dark Home all alone. I made them all agree that during the next storm they would be with me!

    • Good plan! A little quiet time alone is good. Too much quiet time alone is not. I would read and sing to myself, but even that could get old after a couple of days. Glad they agreed to spend the next storm with you.

Feel free to comment!

