Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Flowers and Faith

16 Comments

Song Lyric Sunday

Today’s theme for Song Lyric Sunday is about flowers. Helen, our gracious host, aYsked that we post a song with a flower in the title or lyrics. First, I want to share about my mother’s miracle flower.

When Mom was close to 80, she had this red, plastic flower in a small pot on the coffee table. She called it her miracle flower because he never had to water it. It stayed red and beautiful. Around that time, I’d read something about mental health being a dedication to reality at all costs. I was all serious business in those days and wanted my mom to be mentally healthy. So I told her something like, “I don’t know mom, I think this flower might be plastic.” She  looked at me like I was crazy and insisted her flower was real. Then she changed the subject. To this day, I wish I’d joined my mom in celebrating her miracle flower. What would it have hurt? She only had a few more years to live.

My mom’s ditzy-ness embarrassed me when I was younger. I didn’t understand why some of my friends thought she was so sweet. Now, I get it. In the end, Mom’s faith was more important than whether a flower was real or plastic. So, before I post a flower song, I want to share this beautiful version of “You’ll Never Walk Alone” which was one of my mom’s favorites:

Remembering Mom’s song (and her faith) helped me during the lonely years. Maybe she planted a seed.

My flower song reminds me of my first love, a love that faded and became dormant but never died. It was like “a seed, that with the sun’s love, in the spring became a rose.”

(You can read more about my first love on my Work In Progress page.)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

16 thoughts on “Flowers and Faith

  1. The flower was probably a reminder of life … a splash of color amidst the black and white. Thank you for sharing this with us ❤️

  2. Wow, both songs are absolutely beautiful. The Rose makes me thing of my grandmother, since it was her favorite song.

    We have the same types of issues with my father-in-law, and I agree that there is a fine balance between letting them have their peace and trying to help them be here now. I think it’s beautiful that she thought it was a real flower and there probably wasn’t any harm in joining her celebration. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. ❤

  3. Happy Mother’s Day JoAnna!

  4. smiling to how
    your mother’s love
    is kept fresh in your words 🙂

  5. Beautifully told story. Happy Mother’s Day!

  6. If a flower is made to bring joy to a heart then I’m not too concerned if it is God-made or man-made. A lovely post JoAnna

Feel free to comment!

