Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

The Long and Winding Road

4 Comments

Song Lyric Sunday

Helen was excited about her theme for today’s Song Lyric Sunday, and I can see why. Road trips!  For today’s theme, we are asked to post our favorite road trip song or a song about road trips. I remember that sense of adventure when we’d get up before dawn to get a jump on the traffic. Ah the memories!  Even packing can be exciting. Veering off the path a bit and taking the long way home, 😉  I’m sharing one of my all time favorites, one more time. This song by the Beatles became even more dear to me when my first love returned four decades later. I imagine it as part of the soundtrack if  when my book  becomes a movie.

“The Long and Winding Road,” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney

The long and winding road
That leads to your door
Will never disappear
I’ve seen that road before
It always leads me here
Lead me to you door
The wild and windy night
That the rain washed away
Has left a pool of tears
Crying for the day
Why leave me standing here
Let me know the way
Many times I’ve been alone
And many times I’ve cried
Any way you’ll never know
The many ways I’ve tried
But still they lead me back
To the long winding road
You left me waiting here
A long long time ago
Don’t leave me standing here
Lead me to your door
 Here’s the video:

 

May your road trip be amazingly joyful!

Here are the “rules” for Song Lyric Sunday:

  • Post the lyrics to the song of your choice, whether it fits the theme or not
  • Please try to include the songwriter(s) – it’s a good idea to give credit where credit is due and it’s honestly just a simple Google search
  • Make sure you also credit the singer/band and provide a link to where you found the lyrics
  • Link to the YouTube video, or pull it into your post so others can listen to the song
  • Ping back to this post or my own Song Lyric Sunday post
  • Read at least one other person’s blog so we can all share new and fantastic music and create amazing new blogging friends in the process

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

4 thoughts on “The Long and Winding Road

  1. What a great song! Road trips bring back such great memories. Thanks for sharing yours!

  2. I love that the road is so reliable! There’s always something new to see, but it “Will never disappear.” Thank you for sharing. I enjoy this theme. Have a beautiful week, JoAnna.

Feel free to comment!

