Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Sometimes We Just Need to Be Held

22 Comments

Song Lyric Sunday

Two songs came to me in response to today’s theme: Healing

At the turn of the century, I thought my world was falling apart. But time gave me a different perspective. “Just Be Held,” by Casting Crowns, affirmed, years later, that  God had taken the divorce that brought me to my knees and replaced it with  a miracle beyond my wildest dreams.

Hold it all together
Everybody needs you strong
But life hits you out of nowhere
And barely leaves you holding on

And when you’re tired of fighting
Chained by your control
There’s freedom in surrender
Lay it down and let it go

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

If your eyes are on the storm
You’ll wonder if I love you still
But if your eyes are on the cross
You’ll know I always have and I always will

And not a tear is wasted
In time, you’ll understand
I’m painting beauty with the ashes
Your life is in My hands

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

Lift your hands, lift your eyes
In the storm is where you’ll find Me
And where you are, I’ll hold your heart
I’ll hold your heart
Come to Me, find your rest
In the arms of the God who won’t let go

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
(Stop holding on and just be held)
Just be held, just be held
Just be held, just be held

 

Natalie Grant sings, “Held,” a powerful song about being held through the devastating loss of a child. The song is written by Christa Nichole. Listening will convey the power and love best with this one:

 

Song Lyric Sunday is brought to us by Helen at:

https://helenespinosa.wordpress.com/2017/03/25/song-lyric-sunday-theme-for-32617/

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

22 thoughts on “Sometimes We Just Need to Be Held

  1. I heard the song Just Be Held just recently and wow, did it ever have a profound effect on me! Love it!

  2. Oh, what a breath of fresh air….just perfect for this blessed Sunday when so many need encouragement and light….thank you for your efforts, JoAnna….you are such a blessing and I loved this post…thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. wonderful being held
    in those songs 🙂

  4. Being held is a powerful healer and both songs portrayed that message in a beautiful way. Thank you so much for sharing! ❤

  5. That second one you posted really spoke to me. It reminded me of my niece, as she is barely one month old and I’ve been holding her a lot lately. Holding a baby is a powerful healer, but I then thought, listening to this one, about how that need sticks with us all our lives. Wonderful.

    • What a beautiful way to clarify this deep truth! I’m so glad you and your niece get to share this love and that you have shared it with us, too. Thank you!

  6. Such a powerful post, JoAnna! ❤ 'Lean heavily on God' ~ Over the years I've learned how true this advice is.
    https://meinthemiddlewrites.com/

  7. Thank you for the healing within the words of these two Songs JoAnna. xxx

  8. Touch is really the strongest sense we have – the healing power of a friendly touch is beyond our understanding. Thank you for sharing this, JoAnna.

  9. Love this, so warm and comforting!

Feel free to comment!

