Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

A Letter to My Divorced Self in 2001

18 Comments

I commented on Oneta’s post, Graduation Day, that it made me think about what I’d like to say to my younger self and what my older self might want to say to me, now. Oneta encouraged me to write about it, so I’m going to take that one step at a time. This first step takes us back about 16 years. In some ways, it seems like yesterday, and in some ways, it was a lifetime ago.

broken heart from pixabay

Dear JoAnna,

I don’t know how you will get this letter, or if you will, but I’m writing it anyway. I’m hoping you will get this when you need it most, when you are newly divorced and feeling abandoned.

I know this is harder than anything you have ever dealt with, that you never expected to have the rug pulled out from under you like this. I know it hurts like hell.

But here are some things I want you to know for sure:

You are loved and cherished deeply, profoundly, and forever by the one who created you, the one who will never leave you, the one who will help you heal.

You will heal. The pain will get easier and your mood will lighten. It will take time – longer than you think it should, but you will feel peace and joy.

You are beautiful, valuable, smart, and kind.

You are a woman of integrity and truth.

You are strong, stronger than you think. But it’s still okay to cry.

You have a purpose. More than one purpose in fact, and the world needs you well, so taking care of yourself, loving yourself well, is good for the world.

You are whole. You do not need any other human to complete you.

Focus on the constants of your life that have always been there for you. The people who have always had your back and the things that bring you joy, peace  and comfort like  music, art, writing, and nature.

Know with certainty that God has a plan, a plan more wonderful than you can imagine. Trust the timing.

If you want a peek at God’s plan, read about my Work In Progress 

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

18 thoughts on “A Letter to My Divorced Self in 2001

  1. Dear JoAnna, I’m new to your blog and this post called my attention. I’m sorry you had to go through a divorce. I imagine it was difficult and lonely and that your heart was broken. But you are strong and here you are, sixteen years later. I just want to tell you that you are amazing and that I hope life has been good to you in the meantime. Sending Hugs. Cheila pinkfordays.wordpress.com

  2. The healing begins. Beautiful and perfect for the time. ☺☺

  3. God always has a plan and yes second chances are possible🌻🌞

  4. Such a compassionate letter.. and May the healing continue as you nurture and love yourself JoAnna.. xxx

  5. “You are whole. You do not need any other human to complete you.” So much truth in that, I love that.

  6. Pingback: What my 80 Year Old Self Wants Me to Know | Anything is Possible!

Feel free to comment!

