Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

We’ll Always Have Projects

14 Comments

 

paintbrushes-and-plants-2

I project that I will always have a project. A work in progress. I can’t remember a time, though there may have been one, long, long ago, when I was finished with one project and did not have another one waiting in the wings. Having an old house ensures that we will always have projects. Good thing I like to paint. Not scrape and sand the outside of our wooden house, no, that gets old. But I do like to paint.

I painted my bedroom by myself. After I won a free room painting in a raffle, the guy wouldn’t return my calls, and I finally decided, I can paint it myself! It’s light aquamarine.  That project took a while. But it inspired me, over the years, to paint my living room (a tad darker than my blog background) and the other bedroom (light plumb) myself. Come to think of it, I’ve painted every room of my house-except for the kitchen which has paneling, but I did put the economy class vinyl? tiles on the kitchen floor a very long time ago. That’s another project that needs doing.

There have been times when a person was my project, though I don’t like to admit that, because the only person I really need to focus on changing is me. I’ll always be a work in progress, as we all are, but I don’t want to spend a lot of time, or any time really, projecting what I want someone else to change about him or herself. But don’t we all have those thoughts?  Like wishing someone would….

I think I will stop here before I get myself in trouble.

Except that I want to have some fun projects soon. For me, that means art, painting, puttering. I’ve put off doing several painting projects until I get my manuscript off to be formatted. My book has been one of the longest lasting projects of my life, besides my life, and maybe my daughter’s life. But like I said, I should stop now. Because my daughter has her own life. Yep. I’m done. Getting her through high school was a project. Now I’m done.

Ha! Not really.

I wonder if I’ll have projects after I’m dead. I hope I get to choose. Which reminds me that I am SOOOOO thankful to have time to work on the projects of my choosing, now.

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt, “project,” is brought to us by Linda G. Hill.

I’m not linking back to her prompt post today because….well, I broke the rules. I edited a wee bit. Then I edited a wee bit more. So this post is mostly Stream of Consciousness, with a little editing.  Yep. Now I’m a rule breaker. It’s because I retired from my 30 year job as a substance abuse counselor. I was always so compliant! Now all hell’s gonna to break loose. Nah. Not really. I’ll follow the rules next week. I promise. But I did follow rule #8.

Please visit Linda’s blog, and enjoy the many streams of consciousness at

https://lindaghill.com/

Here are the rules for SoCS:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

14 thoughts on “We’ll Always Have Projects

  1. Your post made me smile. Those projects of yours give you something to look forward to each day and maybe part of the project when one leaves this side of the divide would be to shine as a star for others to see. About that editing part….hmm I am guilty as well 😉

    I am hosting a blog party and would like to invite you. Here’s the link
    https://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/2017/03/04/its-a-spring-party-lets-groove-%f0%9f%8e%b6%f0%9f%8c%bb%f0%9f%8c%b7%e2%9a%98%f0%9f%8c%ba%f0%9f%8d%89%f0%9f%8d%94%f0%9f%8d%97%f0%9f%8d%bf%f0%9f%8d%a6%f0%9f%8d%bb%f0%9f%92%83/

  2. I love how you felt compelled to admit to us you edited your post…we never would have known:)

  3. I think I accidentally deleted Deborah Ds comment. about how good it is to be able to choose our projects. It’s late – that’s my excuse. So sorry, Deb. You are right. It’s absolutely wonderful.

  4. Hi JoAnna, I’m a Christian. I love nature also. Met you at Jackie’s party, would like to connect. I follow you and leave you a link, will be back to visit some more. I haven’t had to chance to mingle yet.

    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/2017/03/04/52-weeks-of-thankfulness-week-1/
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/

    • Thanks for coming over and saying hi! I see from you “about” page, we have a lot in common. I, too, love yoga, swimming, and meditation, which I need to do more of. I also like gardening in the dirt with my bare hands. It’s so nice to meet you!

  5. Looking forward to something is always a good way to wake up 🙂 Keeps us moving and going and happy while we are at it, and makes the other stuff not so bad.

Feel free to comment!

