Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Answered Prayer

21 Comments

I asked God to take away the desire for a partner or else send me a good one. “And God, I would really appreciate it if you could get my soulmate here before Dad and Jesse die,” I added.

  From Trust the Timing

When I prayed that prayer seven years ago, I knew I would be strong enough to deal with the death of my father and my dog, Jesse, when those times came. Even without a partner, I had proven to myself that I could cope with loss and keep my head above water. No matter how much it hurt, I would deal with it. But I didn’t want to go through it alone gritting my teeth and forcing myself to be tough.

Now, as I process grief for my father, I can’t imagine how I would deal with the waves of sadness, especially after I spend a day going through Dad’s abundant possessions and then come home to sort through his mail and paperwork. I’m going through mom’s stuff, too, because he didn’t want to get rid of anything after she died eight years ago. If I had to do this alone as the only surviving child – and go to work the next day at a challenging job – it would be overwhelming to say the least.

But I don’t have to do it alone. I know that even if I was still single, God would walk with me through this, and that I’d survive (probably with jaw and neck pain from the teeth gritting.) But it helps so much to have a supportive partner. That is an understatement. Not only does my husband support me emotionally, he made it possible for me to quit my job just one month before Dad died. We didn’t know the timing would work out that way. But I bet God knew.

My husband was here for me when Jesse died a couple years ago, and now he’s here for me as I grieve for my father, because God answered that prayer.

God doesn’t always answer my prayers my way. Despite all I’ve learned about trusting the timing, God still seems awfully slow to my limited perspective regarding prayers yet to be answered. But I know things are being worked out in those I love, and ultimately, love will prevail.

I am thankful beyond words.

bride-leaning-on-groom-in-doorway

2012, just after our wedding

dad-waiting-for-bride

Here’s Dad on my wedding day.

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

21 thoughts on “Answered Prayer

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss but am also thankful that you have David.

  2. I have a David as well. He is my amazing gift from God. He is my earthly representation of selflessness and he loves me like Christ unconditionally. My Momma went home March 13, 2016 just before My flight took off. So hard to sit in an airport by yourself with tears streaming down your face. After getting to my Mommas home, my David calls and says, “what can I do?” I said, “remember you told me I could ask for the moon”? He said, “yes”. I said, “I want it now”.
    Rent a trailer and come to Calif and load everything we can I want it all. He was there in 22 hours. Thank you Jesus for our undeserved partners.

  3. I’m sorry for your loss as well. And very glad you have such a wonderful support. As for the speed with which prayers are answered, someone once said to me, “It’s not going to happen all at once!!! Imagine how overwhelming it would be if all your prayers were answered immediately!” Which is true. So, like you say, trust the timing. It seems like it’s working for you!

  4. Thanks God for David! Hugs….

  5. I am very sorry for your loss. But on the other hand I am happy that you have such a wonderful support from your husband

  6. I am sorry about your loss…Your words since a while in some way or the other have reached out to him. As always, reading about your husband and the bond you share is something to cherish and to aspire.

    • Thanks, Praj. I believe my father and I are connected. I keep seeing rainbows. 🙂 I aspire to continue to cherish my husband which is usually easy. 🙂 I hope you are cherished and cherish.

  7. Sending thoughts of love as you navigate this time of holy remembrance, JoAnna. So often we find that strength is found in one another… We are all blessed by the love you and your beloved birth…

    Peace
    Michael

  8. sending a gentle smile
    knowing of your loving support
    in this time of loss.

  9. Thanks for sharing, JoAnna. You cross my mind frequently as I know you are dealing with your grief…and the going through ‘things’…so hard. It’s funny, I just embedded a utube video in my post for tomorrow. ..my first video on my blog (after we talked about it the other day.) And it is Garth Brooks’ song ‘Unanswered Prayers.’ “Some of God’s greatest gifts…are unanswered prayers.” Yes…I’ve found that a time or two.
    Sending lots of love…and a hug for your heart ♡

Feel free to comment!

