Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Signs From the Other Side

24 Comments

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry;
I am not there. I did not die.

Mary Elizabeth Frye

Since my dad passed away, I’ve seen signs of his light.

The morning after I got the call, this is what I saw in the Tennessee sky

from the passenger side of the car where I rode.

indiana-2017

Dad saying, “Hello. It’s me. I’m okay.”

The morning of Dad’s funeral, I saw this rainbow reflected from an old bottle in my kitchen window. I had never seen this rainbow before.

sign-rainbow-sharper

As we drove home from the funeral/celebration dinner, I saw this sign in the sky. Dad always liked red.

sky-sign-from-dad

Sunday morning morning, a sweet lady, Dad’s contemporary, gave me this card with the poem above about signs.

card

I imagine these signs were easy feats for the man who taught me, “Nothing is Impossible.”

The timing is interesting, though not surprising – my dad died just a few weeks after I retired from my 30 year career, so now I have more time and energy to grieve, to sort through his stuff, and to see the signs.

I’m curious. Have you ever noticed signs?

PS: Jo’s comment below and repost: https://hellsbellsandcreativetails.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/the-odd-egg-a-repost/ reminded me of the water mark heart that appeared on my mom’s bedroom ceiling some time after she died. They slept in separate rooms, but only because Dad snored so loud. I used to think one was a heart and one was an apple, but maybe they are two hearts. Mom was short and Dad was tall, so these hearts could represent the two of them. Now they’re together again. And I bet he doesn’t snore in heaven, or if he does, it’s like music to her ears.

heart-and-apple-on-moms-ceiling

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

24 thoughts on “Signs From the Other Side

  1. I will always remember after one of my best friends died and we had the memorial service. I was sitting on my bed in a state of shock. All of a sudden, I heard bells tingling all around me. I remember pinching my skin to make sure it was real. Suzi collected bells from all over the world. She had a bell collection in a cabinet in her hallway. After that, I used to just feel her presence, hard to explain but it felt like she was right there with me. It was a very helpful sign to let me know that we can communicate from heaven. Much love to you and I am so happy you have had signs that your father is there!!!!!

    • I love this! It made me smile and gave me gentle goosebumps of the best kind. Now, when I hear bells, I’ll think of you and your friend. Thank you, Pam.

  2. I’ve always liked the poem by Frye. It has comforted me and I hope it does you, too.

  3. Butterflies appear to myself and/or daughter when my wife is about. Even in Winter she’s alighted on our arms in the middle of a shopping precinct when we needed some comfort.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. All the tine. Literally, all the time. We only need pay attention. 😊 Happy for you.

  5. Not long ago, I lost my cat Jasmine. She died at home, but it took some time, during which it got overcast outside. When she finally went still, the clouds broke and the sun came out. As sad as we were that she died, somewhere in the universe they were happy to see her…

  6. JoAnna, I definitely believe in signs. The year my mother died, and my granddaughter and I were coloring easter eggs, her favorite holiday, we had colored them and put them in the refrigerator, and the next morning, she hollered at me to come see … the golden egg as we had dubbed it had a cross on it; I was quite the shock but still a sign to let us know all was well. It looked to be hand-drawn, such a wonderful gift at Easter. I made a post about it when it happened on another blog, I’ll post it here.

  7. Pingback: The Odd Egg (a repost) – Hells Bells & Creative Tails

  8. Jo’s repost: https://hellsbellsandcreativetails.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/the-odd-egg-a-repost/ reminded me of the heart that appeared on my mom’s ceiling some time after she died. I’m going to add it as a PS to this post.

  9. It was such a touching post, JoAnna… I think we see signs but take a while if not ever to recognize them – and you have been extremely lucky to come across these. Maybe you were one of those few who are MEANT to? And the poem was just beautiful – quiet, peaceful and full of love.

    • Thank you, Prajakta. I think that maybe seeing signs like these is one of my strengths, though with practice, anyone could see a few. That’s my guess. I’m glad you liked the post and poem.

  10. Within days of my father’s death, my sisters and I were preparing for the funeral. I went to the basement, looking through some old photos and I found a letter to my youngest sister from him that had never been opened. I gave it to her and she opened it, it was a drawing, and at the bottom, he had written, “I’ll meet you at the top.” Since then, there have been too many G’odd’ coincidences to count. (I’ve even written about one such sign here: https://supermommyoftwins.com/2015/02/15/still-holding-on/)

    • Oh, I love that story! Thank you for sharing it here. So glad you found that letter at just the right time! G’odd coincidences – I’m going to remember that. Good hopes and wishes on your recovery. 🙂 ❤

  11. The signs are always there, we just have to be vigilant 🙂 They can be a real comfort.

  12. Dear JoAnna, I do believe that signs exist. I can think of some key moments in my life when I was confronting something extremely challenging or making a big life choice, and then going for a walk and in both cases, I saw an owl – and at that time I was living in a very urban environment so it was rather unusual. I am not going to look for signs to guide me in making decisions because I do think that comes from within, but I think there is something divine, and for me that appears to present itself through nature, that because my mind is open and clear because of the heavy reflection process I went through, that I have the clarity to see. I think there may be more signs than we realize, so much of existence is about awareness, and I feel you have a strong grasp of that. Great post, it was really heartwarming to hear someone approach this topic. Your pal, Harlon

    • I agree that there are more signs than we realize. They often come when I’m not actively seeking them, like when I lose my keys or something, and I quiet the desperate searching part of my brain and relax a little. Thanks, dear Harlon, for this thoughtful comment, for reminding me I need to take a walk, and thanks for being my pal! ❤

Feel free to comment!

