Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Why a Chip isn’t ‘just a Chip’

4 Comments

Congratulations to my friend, Jana! Recovery is Possible!

The Beggar's Bakery

By: Jana Greene

Greetings, readers – I want to wish each of you a very happy new year!

Earlier this week, something earth-shattering happened. I attended my 12-step home group and picked up my 16 year chip. Sixteen years! I didn’t even know they made chips in that denomination, but alas, here it is. It’s made of metal, even. Isn’t it beautiful?

16

To others, it may look like a regular token, but it’s actually much more than that. In the 16 years I’ve been in recovery from alcoholism, I cherish picking up every single one each year. From the blue, plastic surrender chip that began the whole journey, to all of  the AA and Celebrate Recovery chips collected in between. You might wonder – what’s the big deal about a little chip?

Let me just boast about my weakness for a moment:

A chip represents an entire 365-day span of…

View original post 524 more words

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

4 thoughts on “Why a Chip isn’t ‘just a Chip’

  1. Congratulations to your friend. 16 years!!!

  2. that is indeed an accomplishment to be proud ot! Happy New Year to you.

  3. Really commendable of your friend!

Feel free to comment!

