Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

New Year’s Eve Labyrinth Walk

6 Comments

christmas_labyrinth_web-church-of-the-servant

It’s becoming a tradition for me to walk the labyrinth on New Year’s Eve. On December 31st, 2010, in the center of the labyrinth, forgiveness was the key to making room for love to re-enter my life in 2011. Ever since then, my New Year’s Eve labyrinth walk is something I don’t want to miss.

On Saturday night, I expected something powerful might happen in the center, but the message was a little different. Here’s what I wrote to remember what happened:

Am I doing this right?

Don’t worry about it. Just walk.

Am I going too fast?

Maybe. Just walk.

[Restless in the center, I can’t get comfortable. Tried child’s pose and squirmed like a child. Tried sitting in the chair, tried laying down but there wasn’t room, went back to child’s pose. Refreshed the Forgiveness business]

Then I heard:

It’s time to go walk some more.

On the way back, God clarifies:

Keep moving.       

        Don’t stop.      

                  I’m with you.

Confident, encouraged, I slow the spring in my step because
I don’t want it to end.

I carry the message out with me.

prayer-candles

Kneeling at the prayer candles,
I light her candle,
but don’t want to blow out the torch.

God says,

Let it Go
Her flame will grow.
I got this.


Keep moving.
Don’t stop.
I’m with you
All the way.

finger_labyrinth

(After I published this post, I saw that the spacing about what God said was different from what I had typed in the draft. I worked on it for a while, but couldn’t get it where I wanted it. I’m guessing God wants it to be however you see it now.)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

6 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Labyrinth Walk

  1. looks like a beautiful
    walk towards center,
    then back out
    again 🙂

    • Yes! It was beautiful. It was a good reminder about the journey, the walking, being as important as the center. I felt more energized and happy on the walk back. 🙂 Thanks, David. Happy New Year!

  2. Absolutely 🙂 Keep walking and sometimes, in the weaving in and out of our walks – we make beautiful patterns and connections that keep us going further! Happy 2017!

    • That’s the truth, Prajakta. 🙂 No matter how many times I walk the labyrinth, I think I’m going the wrong way in the beginning. It’s a good lesson – the weaving and the patterns and connections make life richer. Best wishes in this exciting new year for both of us!

  3. That sounds a wonderful idea. I must try and carve a finger labyrinth, might be easier to take with me. And New Years resolution to complete my garden labyrinth.

  4. Thanks for sharing that JoAnna. Really beautiful story. 😊

Feel free to comment!

