Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Cutting the Cord

31 Comments

bird-taking-off

“When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.”  Lao Tzu

For the past six months, I’ve been working just one day a week at the old job, the counseling job I’ve done for thirty years. Some would say I’m moving gradually into retirement. I believe I’m moving into my second career, a career my heart longs for.

Moving to one day a week and letting go of my insurance and vacation benefits was a big leap of faith. But on Tuesday, I made an even bigger leap. I gave notice that I’ll be terminating employment in January.

As far as the hours go, it won’t be such a big change, but it’s cutting the cord to the job that paid my bills for most of my adult life. The job that taught me so much about giving and boundaries and life, the job that provided security, the job for which I am thankful.

As I’ve moved into a more creative life, working on  my book and painting angels, I’ve kept one foot in the old job while stretching into my new life. But you have to let go of the shore if you want to sail the ocean.

It’s hard to say goodbye, especially to my clients. But it’s time to move fully into the next phase of my life and to trust that I’ll be taken care of. Words cannot express how thankful I am for the opportunity to come home to my creative soul.

In a few days, I’ll be 61 years old. Yep. I’d say, it’s about time.

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

31 thoughts on “Cutting the Cord

  1. sometimes it’s the last step that is most profound

  2. Your story is inspiring. You are courageous.

  3. Good luck on your new adventure. I know you’ll love it. I just did it,as you know, and couldn’t be more glad about the move. Hugs!

  4. You are young, and there is still a lot for you to do, a lot for you to learn and accomplish, more importantly for yourself!! You have been teaching me that to be the best we can be to others starts with us being the best we can to ourselves!! Congratulations on moving into the next chapter! I am excited to read your book!!

  5. wishing you joyful
    ease in the transition 🙂

  6. Best wishes as you enter a new phase and best wishes for your birthday and the coming year!

    (I just read your November newsletter. I am very, very behind! It was great and I’m looking forward to hearing more. I’ll try to read the next one a bit closer to when you send it!)

    • Thanks, Joanne. I understand well about getting behind. I find it hard to keep up with emails and everything else. But we just do the best we can within reason. I’m planning to send out my newsletter in the middle of the month after I send my manuscript to my line editor. I appreciate your support, my friend. Take care!

  7. The soaring bird is a fitting image. It must have been a huge decision, and a courageous step to take, especially considering the financial security that it offered – this reminded me of the decision I made in 2007. Painting angels and writing a book sounds a great alternative to me. Wishing you success and joy in your ‘second career’ path.

  8. I love this. I hope to be as courageous as you someday. 🙂 I saw the sypnosis for your book and it really intrigued me. Good luck!

  9. Wish you all good luck with your new carrer, JoAnna 🙂
    When you follow your dreams, there will be less regrets later, which is great.

    • Thanks, Irene! Less regrets and smaller ones, too. And much more satisfaction of knowing you are doing what you feel called to do! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement!

  10. Congratulations. It seems like you are really at peace with where you are in your life and that, my friend, is a place many people never reach. So again, congratulations and well done! I pray you do well as you move forward in your life.

    • Thank you, so much! Your encouragement helps me realize how much more powerful my peace and excitement are compared to my little fears. I hope things are going well with you and your family.

  11. Ah! JoAnna…I am late reading this…which means that I missed your birthday…so HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY! And the news of full retirement is good…very good. I understand exactly how you feel but I urge you to spread your wings and live in faith. Go forward with all that is in your heart and soul and everything else will take care of itself! I wish you and yours much love, peace, and JOY JOY JOY during this Christmas season!! ❤

  12. Congratulations! Sailing boats are indeed meant to leave the shore, so SAIL, my friend! Happy to hear you have taken a leap of faith. Inspiring! ❤

  13. All the best in your new career, JoAnna. I made that leap some years ago. And thanks for signing up to follow my blog.

  14. How very exciting! Good luck and have fun:)

Feel free to comment!

