Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Remember Who You Are

27 Comments

socsbadge2016-17

I was going to write about remembering how I used to draw pictures of horses and dogs when I was barely 10 years old. I loved art in high school. I always had some talent for drawing and painting.

But before I actually started writing, I remembered something from the movie The Lion King.

I hadn’t seen that scene in many years, since children lived in this house, and just now when I watched it, I saw parallels with God telling Jesus, he is the one true king. I know Jesus wasn’t always crazy about being the king. He got tired. Don’t know if this parallel was intended or if it’s just one of those archetype things. Not just, because archetypes are a big deal. The archetype of coming home, if that is an archetype, is one I’m doing as I come back to art.

Today, I’m taking my paintings and prints to our church’s Holiday Artisan Fair. I’ve been painting angels mostly. My mom loves this, even though I can’t see her physically cause she has passed on. OMG, like Mufasa! (except she’s a wispy angel with a soft voice) Because I can feel her sometimes. I’m working on a post about that for next week, so stay tuned (or come back around Thursday.)

But anyway, remembering who I am, is coming home to art after a long, long time of not doing much art. And I’m also writing a memoir about finding my soulmate after a long, long time of being confused, or rather working on me to get ready. You can read more about that on my Work in Progress Page, and the art on My Art page.

Here’s my latest painting done on a piece of scrap wood, my favorite canvas.

blue-ocean-angel-2

Angel of the Waves by JoAnne Silvia

Is there something you used to enjoy, maybe a long time ago, that you want to get back to? Or something you’ve always dreamed of doing? What step might you take in that direction?

PS. Mom says she’s not that wispy.

Linda’s prompt for today’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday post was:

“mem”

Go see what it’s all about at Linda Hill’s “Life in Progress”

https://lindaghill.com/2016/11/11/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-nov-1216/

Here are the SoCS rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

27 thoughts on “Remember Who You Are

  1. O man I want an angel in oils for my mum so bad…

  2. That last art piece is absolutely divine 🙂

  3. Yes there is. Art. I used to love art when I had more vision. I can’t see colours now, but recently I decided to pick up my favourite brightly coloured utensils and see what happened. It is beyond frustrating that I can’t see the colours now, but I love art still. Yours sounds lovely. Congratulations, too, on writing your memoir. I am still working on that one, with the words coming after the colours were gone.
    Love what you said about your mom. That is one of the best scenes from that movie also.

    • I wonder if your intuition will help you with creating art. I also wonder if you’ve tried sculpting, maybe with your physical eyes closed. Just a thought. Best wishes with all of it. I’m looking forward to your memoir!

  4. remembering that we are
    all part of this circle of life!
    but curious to remember more
    of who you are 🙂

  5. Your painting is beautiful! Wow, it’s done on scrap wood? Knowing that makes it even more fantastic! That Lion King clip certainly does have parallels to God talking to Jesus.

    • Thank you, Christy! I like to incorporate the grain in wood I find laying around. In this one, I did not paint the bottom right and just sanded it some to look like sand. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

  6. That post was like a cool breeze on a hot day. Thank you for your originality, your means to connect, your art 🙂

  7. It is so lovely…like you my friend! Sending lots of love ♡

  8. I love the wooden canvas angel of the waves painting!

  9. A clever lady id love to use a picture of yours in a story? This is a good use of the prompt and it is obvious to me that you must no longer waste your talent. 😇

  10. Your Mum makes me smile and I am sure is watching over you with love and pride from the other side.. Your art work is beautiful JoAnna.. Now my knitting is done, before I get started on some more, ( loads of yarn tucked away ) 🙂 I want to get creative again with me art work..
    So love that Angel..
    Love and Blessing
    Sue ❤

Feel free to comment!

