Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

On finding self

4 Comments

This poem reminds me of my father who has lost so much but remains ever faithful. He fought in two wars, lost two daughters, and in November of 2008, he lost his wife of 52 years. He told me when I was 12 years old that “Nothing is impossible.” On this day when we honor veterans, I honor my father, and I pray for peace.

Peace, Love and Patchouli

On his quest to the distant horizon he came upon a tree,

tired from the journey he began to walk slower,

feeling his legs had become like cement,

he saw that he was walking in water that touched his feet

and with each step, rose higher to his knees.

The water moved about him cooling and refreshing

as step by step he came closer to the magnificent arbor,

John realized it was sitting in the middle of the river.

“I come to find the purpose of my life’s journey,”

he spoke to the sky which still lay languid

cradling the sun that was beginning its descent,

it said nothing yet sent a cool breeze

and as he dried his dampened brow

felt the feeling of silk move over his head,

his few remaining hairs blowing slightly,

the man felt calm and at ease.

He stood before the grandest tree he had ever seen,

breathing…

View original post 514 more words

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

4 thoughts on “On finding self

  1. Your father sounds to be a wonderful man, and this poem is a beautiful way in which to honour him on this special remembrance day .. Thank you for sharing .. ❤ Sue xxx

    • Thanks, Sue. My father and I have not always seen eye to eye. But as I’ve grown up, I’ve come to know him as a man of tremendous courage and faith. He is 85 and has a lot of pain in his legs. His perseverance amazes me.

Feel free to comment!

