Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

When Dreams Fade

13 Comments

david-and-joaanne-1972-at-carolines-6

This is my offering for the collaborative at Forgotten Meadows inspired by the prompt:

“When Dreams Fade Away.”

(The photo was taken by my friend Caroline in 1972.)

When Dreams Fade, By JoAnne Silvia

When you left me

all those years ago

against your will

and surely against mine,

the dreams in my young heart

faded slowly

into mere echos

of another lifetime.

Four decades later,

after years of doubt

and darkness,

a speck of dream

survived

asleep so deep

it barely breathed.

When the time came

that you found me again,

and you kissed me

by the river at sunset,

and I smelled your neck

just below your ear,

the dream awakened.

Sparks flew because we knew

the dream was more than just alive

and more than just a dream.

© JoAnne Silvia, 2016

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

13 thoughts on “When Dreams Fade

  1. This poem touched me personally, for I dreamed a dream much like it. I believe it was a visit. :o)

    • My heart smiles that it touched you in this way. A visit! I love that. Even when dreams fade, they often still live quietly, tucked away for safe keeping.

  2. This is beautiful JoAnne.. Showing us that true love never dies.. And I loved the photo share also.. Beautifully penned my friend.. May that Dream forever stay alive with hearts that once again ignite that spark.. xxx ❤

  3. What a beautiful and almost spiritual take on love! Is that you that your friend photographed? It’s amazing

  4. It’s so beautiful JoAnna 🙂

Feel free to comment!

