Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Old Soul Mountains

20 Comments

In high school and beyond, I listened to John Denver sing, “Rocky Mountain High,” over and over. I sang along with him and longed for the Rockies with the feeling that that’s where I belonged. Yet, after all these years, I’ve still never seen the Rockies in person.

Living on the east coast for most of my life, I’ve settled for visits to the Appalachians. I love them, because they are mountains. But I’d always felt like they weren’t quite enough. Like they weren’t the real deal, until last weekend.

My friend and I spent Labor Day weekend in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. On the first morning, I woke early to a lovely sunrise.

Saturday Sunrise

By mid-day, the sun brightened the crisp blue sky as we hiked a moderately difficultΒ  trail on Beech Mountain.Β  The waterfall gleamed like silver flowing over smooth rock and fed a creek who’s cool water tasted cleaner than any I can remember.

img_4830

Later that day, I shared my longing for the Colorado Rockies with my friend who is well traveled. She talked about how the Rockies don’t have the tree coverage of the Appalachians and about how Colorado had become heavily “developed.” I remembered John Denver singing about “more people, more scars upon the land.”

My friend reminded me that the Appalachian Mountains are much older than the Rockies though they used to be at least as grand. Time has weathered the eastern mountains into gentler slopes covered by a rolling blanket of green and smokey blue.

img_4848

img_4874

I started to wonder if maybe these gentle old soul mountains are just as good as the Rockies. They may not be as dramatic, but they sing their own sweet song. My heart sings in their presence, like John Denver sang in “Country Roads,”

“Life is old there, older than the trees…”

On our second evening in the mountains, we went up to Oz.

img_4893

A prosperous amusement park in the 70s, The Land of Oz is now open for a couple designated weekends in the summer and fall. No one was home, but we peered through a mysterious locked gate at the glowing yellow brick road, and I imagined skipping off to see the wizard, and meeting Glinda, or being Glinda, since I’ve always wanted to play her character.

img_4883

oz-gate-close-up

 

Then I sat on a hill near the Oz bridge and thought about how there’s no place like home, and how nice it is to live in a state that has mountains on one end and the ocean on the other….

img_4937

 

….and I watched the most magnificent sunset I’ve ever seen in my life.

img_4950

img_4953

img_4954

I still want to visit the Rockies, but now I know

I am exactly where I belong.

There’s no place like home.

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

20 thoughts on “Old Soul Mountains

  1. Beautiful photos. I too did not think much about New York mountains, Then when my daughter was ready for university there were two that she wanted to go see. We had to drive thru the Blue Ridge Mountains to get to the first school, and they truly took my breath away. I actually pulled over and we got out of the car to soak in the beauty.
    You are right, there is no place like home. :o)

  2. OH, those mountains are just gorgeous!! And what a sunset! Stunning!! πŸ’–β˜€οΈπŸ’–β˜€οΈ

  3. Stunning photos JoAnn. I’ve lived near both the Appalachian and Rocky Mountains. They both have their charm and kudos on making peace with where you are. That is still an occasional challenge for me. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Brad. I took these photos with my phone! My hope is that we both enjoy many good times where we call home and also be able to travel to other lands of adventure! πŸ™‚

  4. Take me home, country roads. Thanks for the nostalgia and the smile that goes with it. xoxo Harlon

  5. The Rocky Mountains are gorgeous, but James and I had the opportunity to drive through the Smokey Mts. years and years ago and they are gorgeous too. I can’t imagine any mountains not being wondrous as are all the oceans I’ve seen. Lovely post JoAnna! πŸ™‚ ❀

  6. It looks like the sky had its own fireworks to play with πŸ™‚ Looks so beautiful!!

  7. Pingback: Boldly Go and Keep Your Eyes on the Stars, or the Road, Depending on What You’re driving. | Anything is Possible!

  8. Beautiful!! I love the Blue Ridge mountains, having grown up in Maryland. It’s nice being close to mountains and ocean. I love it here to on the southern end of the Rockies. They are beautiful too. Dramatic. I just love this whole planet. There’s no place like home.

    • I love the whole planet! Yes, I love her dearly. Her whole big wonderful abundance. And I still want to see the Rockies. I’ve often wondered that if I saw them in person, I wouldn’t want to leave. Enjoy!

Feel free to comment!

