Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Better Than Drugs

11 Comments

Stars from pixabay

The moon has yet to rise.

In the darkness,

Ocean’s horizon blends with sky.

 Her white crests rolling  into the sand,

Just a murmur tonight

Rising now and then

To remind us of her power.

When I gaze at the stars,

I get the feeling there is more.

Much more.

 I am overwhelmed by the distance.

My senses try to adjust

To something foreign

Yet, intimate.

The vastness of ocean

pales compared to the sky dome.

The Universe whispers,

“This is not a sky dome.”

I reach up to touch the Milky Way.

My finger floats above my head

Feeling lost at first.

But there is energy in the air

Where the ocean meets the sky.

I can’t touch it like I touch your face.

But I can feel it’s energy. His energy. Her energy.

Not just in my finger,

In my whole body

and more

Expanding all around me.

Reaching back to me.

Shouting to me from eternity,

“Yes! I’m here!”

“We are here!”

As I reach up to touch the sky.

Better than drugs.

© JoAnne Silvia, 2016. Only use with credit to the author.

(The image is from pixabay. It’s more vivid than what I saw last week from the beach. But I did see wisps of Milky Way smiling at me.)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

11 thoughts on “Better Than Drugs

  1. If I could write a poem on one of the nights I had during my travel… It would be this. Minus the ocean. I am inspired and awestruck by the beauty of this poem.

    • Thank you, Prajakta. That means a lot to me. I started this last week, then today, I came back to it, writing whatever popped into my head before going back and re-arranging some things. That was the first time I remember writing poetry that way, just letting it flow naturally, and it felt right. I’m glad it brought good memories to you!

  2. This is so beautiful! ❤

  3. Lovely Poem, to describe how huge this world is, its not just our Planet, Its the Universe, The Entire Milky Way !! And There is GOD controlling all of this. We are so Miniscule .

  4. Bonjour JOANA beau poème sur la nuit tombée

    je passe comme promis sur ton joli blog

    Je te dépose un rayon de lumière

    tendresse et bonheur

    Ton blog j’aime le feuilleté lire tes écris , tes poèmes tes montages ou autres toujours un énorme plaisir de découvrir tes nouveautés

    Passe une très belle journée que ce soit en famille enfants ou entre amis

    Bisous amitié

    Bernard

  5. I loved this JoAnna, I printed it out and it is on the wall of my room. I love how you connected to the vastness of space, and also of time, and how we can choose to find the wonderment in all. This lifted my spirits and I too went outside to reach out and touch the milky way. Tenderly, Harlon

    • I’m so honored, Harlon, and happy that my poem moved you in a happy way. Sorry it took me so long to get back here to tell you. The milky way is always there for us.

Feel free to comment!

