Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Good News Deserves Equal Time

21 Comments

SOC badge with butterfly

I’m so tired of media concentration on the worst news available.

Yes, we need to know about the shootings, the murders of people who should not have died. Yes, we need to see the videos taken by bystanders and loved ones to document what happened. But we also need to know more about the good that happens in the world. We desperately need balance.

I know I’ve written about this before, but it’s important, and this is my blog, so this is  what my Stream of Consciousness is saying today.

Our media, particularly the TV news, tends to add to the polarization and tension in any given situation. They love to concentrate on controversy on the TV news and think that’s what people want. The recent shootings being reported from this focus of controversy tend to divide us in America.

I don’t want concentration on controversy and the worst news. I want to know what’s going on and why, but I want to know what solutions are being considered. I want to know about the ones who help. I want to know about people overcoming challenges and learning to love each other, or respect each other at least, and efforts to understand. Concentrating on the worst news, the killings, the robberies, the corruption in government, while giving 5 minutes of good news at the end of a 30 minute news program,  adds to our despair and creates an atmosphere of doom. The intense concentration on the worst news makes those horrors seem normal. They are not normal.

What would happen if we had 50% positive news, or a combination of positive and neutral/informational and 50% bad news. What if we had a rule that you can’t have more than 50% bad news in any news program. Okay, I know that would be infringing on the Freedom of Speech to make it a rule. But what if?

I think a 50/50 ratio of good to bad news would be good for our mental and physical health. I believe there would be a gradual decrease in crime, if enough people watched the 50/50 news program and more people would get attention for doing good things. We’d sleep better at night. We’d be exposed to more positive role models.

God, help us learn to live in peace. Help us learn to love one another, or at least respect one another. Help us speak words of hope and encourage each other to do better. Help us to heal and to find our common ground. Help us to lift up what is good and right about ourselves, our families, our neighbors, our countries and our planet.

Here are some places you can find good news:

http://www.dailygood.org/

https://writingtofreedom.com/  (see “Awesome Stories”)

https://www.good.is/

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was the word: “Concentration.” To learn more, visit Linda Hill’s blog by clicking the link below:

https://lindaghill.com/2016/07/08/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-july-916/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

21 thoughts on “Good News Deserves Equal Time

  1. I don’t want to make it sound like I don’t care or that I’m trying to avoid reality. A couple nights ago, when all this went down, I cried when I saw the videos, I hardly slept. I’m still grieving. Just wanting us all to have hope which is not always easy to find.

    • I gave up on receiving news from TV and newspapers years ago; nowadays I try to find new sources of information and inspiration from customizable newsfeeds such as reddit and RSS feeds from favorite sites. While there’s still a general tendency towards negative news, it’s not nearly as … apocalyptic. :/

      • Apocalyptic is a fitting word. I had given up on TV news and newspapers, but something told me to watch on that particular day. In a way I’m glad I saw some of it, but I will probably stick to internet options I can control. Thanks for the info and support!

  2. I totally concur JoAnna and this is why I’ve learnt to turn off the TV often because it can just get a bit overwhelming. It’s not and shouldn’t be normal.

  3. wondrous finding the good
    news away from news, JoAnna!
    i find much good in staying
    away from news 🙂

  4. Amen.
    I could do without the news. I remember having dinner at my in-laws a few years ago, we were tv dining in the living room, and I lost my appetite entirely. One cannot eat to the news if one is empathetic at all. For years, and I do mean years, when my husband was deployed, I never watched the news. I lived just fine until the salmonella outbreak. I recall being angry there was no spinach at the store, and it was days before I found out why from a friend. That’s the worst of it. Now, social media makes it unbelievably hard to avoid the bad stuff. I love the happiness blogs and the good news stories. I like to get online to share experiences, mine and others’ — the bad stuff is unavoidable unless we shut ourselves off.

    • Many years ago, I used to watch the news every night because I wanted to know what was going on in the world. Now, I watch it occasionally in spurts and try to get most of my information from the internet. I don’t know if they are reporting more bad news (because what we focus on gets bigger?) or if I’m realizing how badly it affects me. But I know I can only take so much before I feel overwhelmed.

  5. There’s an old expression, “If you don’t read the newspaper, you’re uninformed; if you do read the newspaper, you’re misinformed.” They’re no longer concerned about accuracy or fairness in the media anymore; they pay it lip service but then turn around and it’s back to “If it bleeds, it leads.” It’s abuse, and we’re all better off not taking it.

    • Abused is how I feel if I watch too much of it because it’s almost all bad. I think it’s okay to report the bleeding, the murders, the bad stuff, but just not such a high concentration. If it bleeds, it need to be reported, but let’s hear about those who are working to stop the bleeding, too. Let’s hear more about the heroes, and not just in the last 3 to 5 minutes.

  6. Yeah, I am so much more peaceful when I don’t watch the news. It is so sensationalized for ratings. I really like your 50/50 rule. Maybe even 60 % good that makes us all feel better and more apt to get along. It’s such a crazy world right now. It’s nice to have this community. I love your SOCs.

    Peace
    Mary

  7. Dear JoAnna, I agree with you so much, the news was once about journalism and exposing the truth, now it’s become about sensationalizing and with no sense of quality control on how disturbing the images are that accompany the “stories”. There are so many individuals, grassroots organizations and communities making positive change in this world, to me, they should be on the front page so they can inspire others and create role models for others to find a way to clean up their spot on this planet. Another trend that I find disturbing is with so many of the horrific and tragic stories that are reported, we read and see about the event rather vividly but the stories of justice and closure never seem to make it to print, it’s just on to the next scene. It’s hard for me to watch and as a result, I don’t watch the news, and since then I am much less anxious and have fewer bad dreams. Finally, where mental illness is so undertreated and continues to be stigmatized, I would think that it must be hard for people with mental illnesses not to be triggered by what they see which further distorts the reality they see and the suffering they must experience. I nominate you as Editor of The Glass is Half Full Times. Thanks again JoAnna for your intelligent and compassionate contribution to the world. Love, Harlon

    • I greatly appreciate your support, Harlon. You make excellent points, especially the one about the risk of people being triggered. I’ve thought about that, but you clarified it here. I think the mainstream news distorts reality for many people, not just people with mental illness, but they are going to be more at risk. The Glass Half Full Times is a great title and I’m honored by your nomination. I’ll do my best. ❤

  8. I agree we need to know the news but we are never given a follow up and some communities come together and do such positive things; not usually given air time. Just spoke to someone who witnessed violent riots in Birmingham and the communities dis build projects. Now there is a Warwickshire peace project too that this person helps organise.

  9. Pingback: Coming Together | Anything is Possible!

  10. Some of the major national newspapers in India have started a weekly newsletter now that is full of good news and happiness and self-exploration. I almost try to avoid the daily news now and just wait for the weekly dose. Thank you for sharing those links… 🙂 I have my daily dose now.

  11. You’ve got a healthy approach with almost avoiding the daily news and concentrating more on the positive newsletter. Maybe we’ll have more options like that in the US some day. I’m happy to add to your good news!

Feel free to comment!

