Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

The Day Water Delayed My WIP

20 Comments

socs-badge-2015

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt is, “book.” Yesterday I was going to work on my book in the afternoon, because that’s my schedule. Wednesday and Fridays afternoons are for my WIP, my book. Wednesday and Friday mornings are for platform building and business related to my book. Which reminds me, what do you think of the new look here at
“Anything is Possible?” I didn’t want to make a static home page, because I don’t know if that will make it harder to find my blog posts. One step at a time. I did add a WIP page and a page for my art.

Anyway, I also went to the gym in between the business book work and the book work, and it was HOT out, so I decided to take a shower! I have an exclamation point there  because now, with my new schedule, I have the freedom and flexibility to take a shower whenever I want, almost. The problem came when I could not turn off the cold water! I tried and tried, but it still flowed out happily – more than a trickle but less than a gush.

blue waterfall

 

I called my husband who told me where the cut off was right in front of the house. Yes, I should know that. He said it was under the bucket just under the bedroom window. I pulled that bucket for a while before it came up. There was no turn off to be seen. Only bugs. Lots of bugs. I poked around a bit, but then recalled that there is also a shut off closer to the street. It took about five minutes to figure out how to lift the cover off the hole. I got my biggest trusty screw driver, after the shovel didn’t work, and lifted it. More bugs. Living in the south, in a humid environment, we have an abundance of large cockroaches. We call them water bugs. I don’t mind them as much when they’re outside….

I poked around and found the meter. The screw driver tapped something that might have been the turn off valve next to the meter. But there were lots of roots covering the whole shebang. I don’t usually use that word. I don’t think I’ve ever written the word, shebang. I don’t like the looks of it. Roots covered the whole apparatus.  I had to dig at them, but they were tough. I used my hands some which made me feel brave. I set my jaw the same way I used to when I was single and had to do this stuff myself most of the time. I had thought of calling my husband back and telling him I couldn’t find the dang turn off, but I decided to push through and not make him come home from work. After I got a plastic grocery bag to use as a glove (we only get them because they’re great for picking up after the dogs) things moved quicker. I saw the turn off valve! AND I had the turn off tool the plumber left with us which made it much easier to turn off.

Then I went to wash my nasty hands. But there was no water! Thank God, I had put a pot under the bathtub faucet before I started looking for the turn off. I had meant to save it for the dogs. But I’m so glad I could use it to wash my hands. So, I could finally get back to my book! Oh, the adventures of working from home.

If you’d like to get your feet wet in the Stream of Consciousness, visit Linda G. Hill at:

https://lindaghill.com/2016/06/03/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-416/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

20 thoughts on “The Day Water Delayed My WIP

  1. a wonderful call
    to care for water
    while caring
    for ourselves 🙂

  2. I love the way you allowed yourself to “stay in the game”.

  3. Another great SOC! I laughed out loud a couple of times – the whole shebang bit made me laugh. You always managed to come back to idea you started with. I do enjoy these, and the tangents you lead us on. So so great! Thank you.

  4. I’m loving the website look. 🙂

  5. Funny part about finally getting the water off and then not having water to wash. Those roots growing all over the shut off sounds like a horror movie or at least sci-fi. I would not know where to look for the shut off valve usually, but recently we had a pipe repaired in front and I found out the shut off valve is right next to it. 🙂

  6. I’m glad my shut off valve is a lot easier to find and use than yours! Hope you’ve got it all fixed now.

  7. Bonjour JOANA avec quelques petits orages
    L’amitié est un sentiment fort
    Il est beau de la découvrir
    Sur ton blog je peux lire tes poèmes , tes créations
    Les messages de tes amis (ies)
    C’est une appréciation forte
    On peux y trouver toutes sortes d’amis Français ou étrangers
    Quelle partage
    Sur nos blogs on vit un monde de paix
    Ce serait si beau que sur terre règne la paix règne


    Passe une belle journée , prends soin de toi
    Bernard , bises

    • Dear Bernard, thank you for this sweet video and your hopeful comment! I am grateful to have so many caring and peaceful friends, such as you, here on WordPress.

  8. That was a day with a lot of problems but you find it.

Feel free to comment!

