Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

The Pressure’s On!

23 Comments

socs-badge-2015

But it’s a soft pressure, a nudge, a tickle, a gentle kick in the butt, if there is such at thing, to get moving on my goals. One of my first goals, since I’ve cut back on my old job, is to create a website from my WordPress blog.

As some of you know from yesterday’s post, I pressed the buy button on a domain name with my name not realizing it would automatically replace joannaoftheforest. If I’d know it would do that, and by it, I mean WordPress, I would have warned you. Fortunately, it seems that you can still find me, or so I surmise from yesterday’s comments.

From what I gather from a brief tutorial on YouTube, I will need to make a static home page. Maybe I’ll rename my blog page, and then add a home page that is static. Obviously, I need to study this process more and look at themes that are more website looking. For someone who has for years referred to herself as “low tech,” I’m not all that panicked by this task. I created a website for my church, but this seems a little trickier at this point. It’s probably one of those things that turn out to be relatively simple after it’s all done.

To all my followers and visitors, I want to impress upon you this message like a verbal massage:

Thank you.

massage from pixabay

THANK YOU!

massage stones and flower pixabay

Thank you!

IMG_2799

For bearing with me as I go through these challenging, exciting steps!

Today’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was:

“Press”

Brought to you by, Linda:

https://lindaghill.com/2016/05/27/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-2816/

Feel free to join in the fun of SOC. No pressure.

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

(The first two pictures are from pixabay under the topic: massage. The bottom picture is my own and is a gift to you.)

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

23 thoughts on “The Pressure’s On!

  1. Switching is a bit tricky but very doable I’m told. I am considering self-hosting another blog soon. All the best with the venture. I like that massage image. Could do with one right now.

  2. I’m pretty sure it just redirects. I did it years ago. Good luck with your transition, enjoy your weekend 🙂

  3. Thank you Joanna, I needed some loving kindness today and the verbal massage just helped smooth out some of the pain and stiffness of the day. And now I can get into the garden and get my hands dirty. I think I saw in on Jeopardy but 9 out of 10 Doctors recommend you for feeling better about yourself and life. 🙂 Hugs, Harlon

    • Ha! 9 out of 10 doctors. What does the 1 out of 10 recommend? 😉 Getting your hands dirty in the garden, I’ll bet. Enjoy that Horticultural Therapy! Hugs to you, Harlon!

    • I loved this so much, Harlon, I just had to say so, “I think I saw it on Jeopardy but 9 out of 10 Doctors recommend you for feeling better about yourself and life.”

      M

  4. Hi JoAnne,

    As others have noted, WP seems to have maintained my connection to your new URL address without any issue. I think when you buy a domain, when people type either the new one or the original WP domain, it will automatically take folks to the new one. WP always keeps the default one I think, unless you move to an external host as others have noted.

    If you need any help with setting up a static home page that comes up, with a link to the blog page, let me know! I think it is actually pretty simple… (This made me wonder how I did it once… You create a new “Page” in your Dashboard and then on the “old WP Dashboard” if you go to “Settings”, then “Reading”, on the page that comes up the top selection is called “Front Page Displays” and one of the options is a button called “A Static Page”. If you select that option, you can use the pull down menu to tell WP what page should always load when people enter your site, and you can build all your links to other parts of the site, including to your blog page, from there…)

    Peace
    Michael

    • Thank you, Michael. Your description is helpful. I appreciate your offer to let you know if I need help. I will look at this again in the next few days. Peace and Blessings!

      • So, how DID the writers workshop go?

          • I have gone to smaller writers’ events (Meetups here in Dallas), and they have been all over the map. Some have been good and others terrible. One woman, “Rosemary” I think was her name, started by telling me what the “rules” were. Never went back to that. (But none of the others have been quite that crazy. Even so, I am a bit skittish after that first experience.)

            • I can certainly understand that. I’ve been told rules like don’t use adverbs and don’t use “was” much, and I do understand the value of action verbs, yet I’ve read plenty of successful books that used adverbs and the verb “to be” in abundance. Some of the best authors write the way people talk. Some rules were meant to be broken.

              • Well, I can appreciate what you were saying. But this person was more extreme than that. She was telling us when we would be “permitted to speak” during the meeting and how we would address a person there and that kind of thing. It was like something out of “The Devil Wears Prada.” Only 4 or 5 people showed up, including some woman who had been an editor in New York a number of years ago (apparently the “personage” in question). I never went back, and one guy was doing all he could to keep from bursting out laughing. (He thought, correctly, that they were idiots.) If it is a workshop that is $150 a head and a packed room that is one thing, but four or five people that show up for free at one was simply presented on the internet as a Meetup? (And, yeah, it was really that bad!)

                • Yikes! How awful! Sounds like somebody had major control issues.

                  • It was bad. But I have been to a few other gatherings since then, and they were not as bad. (I am glad to hear that yours was that productive. I bet your memoir will be quite a read.)

                    • Thanks! I hope so!

                    • As an aside, (1) do you have any online writing groups you recommend (hopefully ones without trolls / flame wars) and (2) I am interested in the online / low residency MFA programs in creative writing. (Will not happen this year, but maybe some time in the next few years.)

  5. I am sure the transition will be smooth… and a new journey in itself 🙂

Feel free to comment!

