Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Taking a Break, Sort Of

6 Comments

socs-badge-2015

As you may know, I’m taking a break next week to go to a writer’s conference. My first one! But I’m taking an even bigger break from work since I’m cutting back to one day a week at the job.

But I’m not really taking a break from work. It looks like the conference will be busy. Breakfast starts at 7:15. I’m not a morning person. I tend to stay up late, getting on the computer after the laundry is on it’s last load and I’ve taken care of other business. I really should break the habit I have of staying up late on the computer. Sometimes I’m up until 2am. But usually that’s my limit. I try to stop earlier than that, like 1am. When I have to get up early the next day, I try to get to sleep by midnight. I’m curious about how many night owls there are on WP, or among bloggers in general.

My schedule will be very different from what I’m used to when I get back from the conference. It will be an interesting experience. I predict I will love it – creating my own schedule.

I’ll have two days for writing, including working on my book and blogging, though I tend to work on blog posts whenever an idea hits. I’ll have one day for ART projects, initially at the Rescue Mission where my husband works. I’ll post pictures as those unfold. And one day will be for home improvements followed by going to the beach in the afternoon.

I also have a goal to go the gym at least two days per week, probably on my writing days. I hope to go swimming at least one day per week, too.

There! I’ve put it in writing. Hopefully that will get me to take those breaks to go to the gym and the beach. Beach breaks are the best in the summertime!

IMG_2813

I think these waves are called breakers.

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was “brake/break.”

If you’d like to join in the fun, visit:

https://lindaghill.com/2016/05/20/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-may-2116/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

6 thoughts on “Taking a Break, Sort Of

  1. Yes, I stay up late while telling myself I should go to bed.

  2. I hope – and I feel pretty confident about this – that the writers conference will be a fun experience for you that opens your mind and strengthens your future. I love “sort of breaks” – they are the best, a break without expectations can often be the most rewarding. Hugs, Harlon

    • Thanks, Harlon. I appreciate your feeling pretty confident, because I know the place it comes from. A fun experience without expectations. Hopes without expectations. I’m liking that. Hugs!

  3. Have fun at the writers’ conference and most of all: enjoy the wondrous beauty of the setting where you’ll be.
    You mentioned times of blogging/writing etc. Night owl here. I’m up till 4:00 a.m. most nights and get little sleep, which seems to work for me. When I was in high school, Mother used to have to drag me out of bed, so to speak. Yeah, late works best for me. Have fun on your trip. I am at the beach, but prefer mountains, far and beyond. So many different changes in nature, cultures, and beauty of it all.

Feel free to comment!

