Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

I had no idea what a brave Mom I had.

8 Comments

I’m re-blogging this post in memory of my sister, Mary Kaye, and my mother. My sister’s birthday was March 7, and my mother’s, March 21st. I imagine they are smiling at me. I hope they like the Angels I’ve been painting. Still, I miss them. My big sister, Linda, is with them, too. I miss you, too, Linda. Thank you for your support during those lonely years.

Anything is Possible!

70s Family Photo

Dad told me a new and enlightening story today at IHOP about my Mom who passed away a few years ago:

Just one week after my 16 year old sister was killed by a drunk driver on her birthday, Dad’s minister told him they needed someone to take the church youth group on a scheduled camping trip because the regular youth group leader was pregnant and having some physical challenges. Dad wasn’t sure, but when he asked Mom, she said, “when do we leave?”

After a couple days the youth group kids were bored and ready to go back home because they’d already learned everything about camping.  Mom convinced them to stay so they could teach their skills to other kids. Against advice that they were asking for trouble, Mom got Dad to drive the church bus to the infamous Hay Street in Fayetteville, NC and gathered kids from a…

View original post 149 more words

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “I had no idea what a brave Mom I had.

  1. My belated condolences on your loss. I send prayers of gratitude to them for watching over you. Best wishes.

  2. Your Mom’s birthday is the 21st, mine’s is the 26th (day after mine).

    I don’t know much about Fayetteville, NC (never had the pleasure of going there myself) but I assume Hay Street was a very bad neighborhood. That did take courage, but knowing that the kids got a lot out of it made it worthwhile. That’s probably the first (maybe the only) time anyone went out of their way to show them a good time. I’m sure your Mom and sisters are watching over you and smiling.

    Is that you on the left? If so, you haven’t changed.

    • March is a good month to celebrate birth of the life we have, and the lives we have loved. Hay street could be a great place now, for all I know, but back in the 70s I think it had a lot of bars.
      I’m the one behind my parents, the one with the freckles and reddish hair. I sure look happy. Thank you, John.

  3. My heart goes out to you, JoAnna…

Feel free to comment!

