Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Angel Art

25 Comments

Art quote by Kurt Vonnegut

Of course, I’d love to make a living as an artist. But it takes some pressure off to just create art to make my soul grow, for heaven’s sake.

I’m getting ready for my second year in a community art show this weekend and trying not to be nervous about getting everything together. You can read about my first art show here. It will help me to remember that the show I participated in last year was ultimately a spiritual experience for me. It’s something I was meant to do since I was 10 years old and spent much of my free time drawing dogs and horses. But now, I’m mostly painting angels.

For years, I’ve heard myself say, “I’m supposed to be painting angels.” So, I’m taking more time to honor that message which could be from my mom who collected angels until she became one.

Most of my work is done on pieces of re-claimed wood. I did the painting below about 10 years ago, but just added the little angel on the flower a few days ago.

little angel on purple flower tree

Little Angel on a Purple Flower, by JoAnne Silvia

This next one, “Forest Angel” I also painted on reclaimed wood. She’s one of my favorites.

Forest Angel ligher

Forest Angel, by JoAnne Silvia

 

The next piece, I call “Convergence.” I’ve been working on it for about a month now. I use the knot holes in the wood for the angels faces, or a halo. One thing led to another, and another.

IMG_2656

Convergence, by JoAnne Silvia

 

This post was inspired by the angels and by Lorrie Bowden who writes about claiming her identity as an artist this way:

“…..as I lift the veils that shroud my eyes I feel a certain power emanating, flowing, rising to the surface of my world.  I embrace it with open arms and welcome a lost lamb home.”

Thank you, Lorrie!  I celebrate with you as we welcome home our creative arts, and our creative hearts!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

25 thoughts on “Angel Art

  1. Oh!!! My dear, dear friend, JoAnna!!! Thank you! Thank you for baring your soul as an artist and for honoring me in this way!! It is such a beautiful feeling…to create. I have another class tonight which I am so excited about. I have been creating in my mind even when I have to be doing something else. I am even DREAMiNG of creations…I woke up and sketched it out…went back to sleep and finished the dream where I named the piece!!!!

    I remember your experience last year…and it was so moving for me. I wish you a show that warms your heart filled with connections to the people you will meet. I love your pieces…especially that you use the knots in the woof that way…PERFECT….AND BEAUTIFUL!!! Much love my wonderful friend ♡♡♡

    • I know what you mean about creating in your mind while doing other things. I’m still working at my counseling job and looking forward to the time in the near future when I can devote more time to creative work. I love sharing this time of blossoming creativity with my blogging family, but particularly with you, Lorrie, as we both experience the joy and excitement of a new world opening up! 🙂

      • Yes, JoAnna. ..I agree!! It feels like we are in very similar energy and the beautiful part is that we are so aware of it!! I can’t wait to see more of your work…I hope you will post about your show. Thanks for your friendship…your support…and your incredible soul!! ♡♡

  2. Wow. I can almost feel the textures, they’re so rich. Keep doing what your soul tells you’re supposed to. It’s beautiful.

    • I hadn’t consciously thought about texture, but my work does have a lot of texture. Thank you for your lovely compliment and the encouragement. They mean a lot to me.

  3. Oh my these are wonderful. I would frame them and put them in my entry way to remind me I am surrounded! Beautiful work ✨

  4. Delightful work JoAnna, and the softly shaded forms are a balm to the eyes and heart.

    • Oh, I love that – to be a balm for the eyes and heart. Having been a therapist for so many years, it feels good to know that I can help people in a new way, a way that is therapeutic for me, too. Thank you for such affirming feedback!

  5. Very nice work. You can create are to live or live to create art. I’m looking for that middle ground in writing. Keep on creating.

  6. Thanks so much for sharing your art and angels with us! I wish you all the best with your show and hope it will again be spiritually fulfilling for you. I especially love your Forest Angel and how the grain of the wood arches above the angel like a natural cathedral.

    • Thank you, Joanne! The cathedral over the Forest Angel is exactly what I was going for, and what love about it too. When I saw the arches in the piece of wood, I immediately saw the forest cathedral. That doesn’t always happen. Sometimes I start out with one idea, then something unexpected comes out. I bet that happens in poetry, too… like in life.

      • Yes, definitely! There is room for the planned and the serendipitous in all forms of art. One of the things I especially love in poetry is when each person can bring their own life and emotional experience to find unique meaning in a poem. I love for there to be space for entry and mystery in a poem. Some poets want the reader to feel exactly as they do, but I prefer to let the reader/listener find what they need within the work. I’m apparently in philosophical mode this morning…

  7. OMG JoAnna!! These are amazing! So beautiful. I love them!
    In awe,
    Mary

  8. These are absolutely gorgeous and still retain a very raw earthy feel to them 😉 Beautiful!

  9. Pingback: Attitude Adjustment – Loving Me, Too

  10. Beautiful! I especially love the Forest Angel too. There is something ethereal about it that just draws you in. A quote I recently came across (in a fortune cookie lol) is very apropos here: “A truly rich life contains love and art in abundance”. 🙂

  11. Reblogged this on ENLIGHTENMENT ANGELS and commented:
    Angelic Artful Beauty

Feel free to comment!

