Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Oddities

14 Comments

socs-badge-2015

Is it odd that people who seem to be, or are just labeled odd, odd balls, odd birds, as in “She’s an odd bird,” often turn out to be accomplished at interesting things? They don’t just turn out to be, often they are interesting.

Wasn’t it Einstein who didn’t speak until a relatively 😉 late age. It seems like I remember he didn’t learn to tie his shoes until he was older than most kids who learn to tie their shoes. He was busy with other things!

It reminds me of that quote about misfits, the crazy ones, the ones who think differently. I wonder if it will interrupt my stream of consciousness if I hunt for that. Well, I’ll just  put that at the end.

Both of my kids are odd. I might have mentioned that before. Outside the box is what I sometimes call them. In an earlier, earthier culture, say hundreds of years ago, my son would probably be a shaman, or something like that. They are creative types, extra-ordinary. Did they get that from me?

On the surface, I do not seem all that odd. But if you could read my mind…. But maybe that’s true of many of us. Especially us writers.

I’ll tell you a couple of odd things about me. I’ve never lived in a house with an automatic dishwasher. I don’t even want one.  And I’ve never used an ATM, though I did get my husband to do it for me once. It didn’t look that hard, but I just don’t like the though of it. I don’t even like to make financial transactions on line and try to avoid that when possible.

Care to share anything odd about you?

As I was thinking of a title for this post, I thought of the word, oddity. Now I wish I’d written about David Bowie and his song, “Space Oddity,” which I’ve always liked. So here it is:

I also liked the movie Labyrinth, which he stared in. I saw an article in which David Bowie was criticized by one of those old evangelical people who give Christians a bad name and who said all kinds of really stupid things about him. But here’s an article about Bowie kneeling and saying the Lord’s Prayer:

https://pjmedia.com/faith/2016/1/14/why-david-bowie-knelt-and-said-the-lords-prayer-at-wembley-stadium/

And here’s that video about the misfits, or rather, the crazy ones, from a speech by Steve Jobs :

If you’re crazy enough to want to join in the fun of the Saturday Stream of Consciousness post (and I mean crazy in a good way) visit Linda Hill’s blog at the link below:

http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/22/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-jan-2316/

Oh, yeah. Today’s SOC prompt was: “odd/even”

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

14 thoughts on “Oddities

  1. Pingback: Oddities | oshriradhekrishnabole

  2. nothing wrong with being
    one of Kerouac’s
    odd ones 🙂

  3. I think different is interesting too. 🙂

  4. I’m not sure anyone really understood David Bowie. I’m starting to think he might have been the normal one.

    • If you define normal as being yourself or being in touch with feelings and expressing those feelings, rather than conforming, he sure was. When I look at his life, I can’t help but admire his willingness to explore things outside the box.

  5. This was an excellent post Joanna…a friend of mine a therapist once described human kind as all belonging the the autism spectrum, just that some are further along than others….in other words we are all odd in some way…..imagine how dull and boring it would be if we were ‘normal’ whatever that is…….have a great week JoAnna and enjoy your oddness…….

    • That’s the first time anyone has ever told me to enjoy my oddness. I like that! And I also like your therapist friend’s idea of all of us being on the autism spectrum. I’ve had vague notions of something like that, but had not put it into words. I have thought of autism as being on the far end of introversion, but oddness seems to be a more inclusive of various ways of being.

  6. So thoughtful,

    All the best, ❤

Feel free to comment!

