Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Instant Karma

14 Comments

After work, I drove to pick up our Monday night pizza for $7.99 and some dog food. The traffic was predictably heavy as I approached an intersection and saw a tall, black man with a beard and a knit hat, holding a cardboard sign that said, HOMELESS VETERAN. Something about him looked safe. I don’t know what. Maybe it’s because my dad is a veteran. Maybe it was because he looked to be about my age, like he could have gone to high school with me.

I realized I had an extra Nature Valley protein bar in my purse. He’d have to cross one lane of stopped traffic, waiting at the light with me, to get it. But I got the protein bar out of my purse and “rolled” down my window. When he saw me, I held the bar out to him.

“Do you want a protein bar?”

“Yes, ma’am. I’ll take anything!” he said. “Thank you!”

As the light changed and I drove on, I realized that I should have asked him if he knew about the  Rescue Mission, downtown. It would be a cold night. I should have at least mentioned it.

I got the dog food, and picked up a Vitamin Water, as I developed a plan to go back the same way. If he was still there, I would give him the water and tell him about the Mission.

When I got to the check out, the cashier kept looking at the pizza box. Then he told me they’d forgotten to put a price sticker on my pizza.

“It’s Monday, so it’s $7.99, I  said.”

“Well, today it’s zero.”

“What, you mean its free?”

“Yeah. We want you to come back.” He said.

“Wow. Thanks!”

I looked carefully for the homeless veteran as I turned at the intersection where I’d seen him last. He wasn’t there. I looked for him most of the way home. What if he was walking the same way I was going? Should I offer him a ride to the Mission? Would that be crazy?

As it turned out, I didn’t see him.

I hope he has a warm place to stay.

I keep thinking about him.

My slice of pizza seems like a feast.

It’s not awful that our gas furnace is on the fritz and we have to use space heaters.

We will be plenty warm in our little old house.

pizza

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

14 thoughts on “Instant Karma

  1. Sometimes life is so full of opportunities to be grateful.

  2. Joanna, what a touching story. This is a wonderful example of being in that pure space of offering kindness and compassion. You cared about his welfare and you were provided for in turn. It just melts my heart to see how we are looked after when we tone down all of that antagonistic nonsense.

  3. Love the beautiful synchronicity ❤

  4. Bonsoir JOANNA
    Un regard, un sourire et une main
    Chaleureuse sur l’épaule
    Valent mieux qu’un million
    De mots ou de phrases
    Ce que sent le cœur est plus profond
    Que ce qu’entends l’oreille
    Je te remercie d’être là par ton amitié
    Je te souhaite une belle fin de semaine
    Un agréable week-end
    Avec de la joie et du bonheur au sein de ta demeure
    Bises, amitié
    Bernard
    Ce jour chez moi quelques flocons de neige sans plus

Feel free to comment!

