Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

A Boomer’s Thoughts on Star Wars VII

11 Comments

socs-badge-2015

The first movie title that popped into my head when I read the prompt for today (a movie title) was Star Wars, the most recent movie I’ve seen.

I don’t go to movies much anymore, but in the late 70’s I saw the original Star Wars, A New Hope, ten times. I mean it! I loved the movie. It was the first movie of its kind  back then.

So, having become so familiar with the original Star Wars, it was nice to see Episode VII with Princess Leia and Han Solo again. I could totally relate to their challenges of having a wayward son. (Not that my son was ever that bad!) But I thought, if Princess Leia and Han Solo can have a son who is seduced by dark side, it can happen to anybody!

It’s also possible that their son, and mine will come back to the light. In fact, my son is softening a little toward the light. Or maybe he just sees the light from a different angle, than I do. Yes, I believe that’s it. An earthier angle. There is light that gets through the darkest cracks, the tiniest cracks in into the darkest places.

But I sort of like the dark, in literal terms that is. I don’t like bright lights, especially fluorescent lights. They make me want to find a dark, cozy cave, or put my head under the covers.

Maybe I can appreciate the light more, when it shines in a dark place, like candle light. It’s so much more beautiful to see a candle in a dark room, than to see it in a bright room with fake light.

I keep thinking that I need to go back to the Star Wars theme, but this is my Stream of Consciousness.

To all of us mature Princess Leia’s (or General Leia’s) whose sons or daughters may be seduced by the dark side, or the gray side, or the green side, (which is not so bad) there is always hope. The light gets in through the cracks. In the meantime, we love them and love ourselves, knowing we did our best. And I believe the best is yet to come!

Here’s an interview  with Carrie Fisher. She is funny with her little dog, Gary. She makes me feel like we don’t have to look like models when we age with Grace. I love that she is wearing comfortable shoes.

 

And in this one, below, she takes her shoes off!

 

If you’d like to join in the fun of Saturday, Stream of Consciousness posting, visit:

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Jan. 9/16

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

11 thoughts on “A Boomer’s Thoughts on Star Wars VII

  1. Pingback: A Boomer’s Thoughts on Star Wars VII | oshriradhekrishnabole

  2. i’m seeing more light
    after reading your post
    on this dark morning 🙂

  3. I saw an interview with Carrie Fisher a few years ago. I don’t remember much of the content, but my feeling was similar to what you described– realizing how great it was that she was funny and comfortable with who she was, and that it wasn’t Princess Leia! Ha! What a role to be typecast in… What a motivator to get in touch with who you really are and wish to be!

    And I agree the dark side is always a sort of temporary movement… And I think it’s good to consider the other angles of seeing things. It can help us understand one another better…

    Peace
    Michael

  4. Thank you for these insights, Michael. I believe taking time to consider other people’s perspectives and trying to understand, would help us get along better.

  5. Ah, I so hate fluorescent lights! Candle light is much better. 🙂 Have yet to see the new movie.

    • Candle light, sunlight, diffused light, like sun through yellow curtains, all so much better. Though I don’t mind the fluorescent light just above my kitchen sink, just the overheads make me uncomfortable on a good day….. I hope you enjoy the movie!

  6. I loved Carrie Fischer’s voice in the new movie.

Feel free to comment!