Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Walking the Labyrinth on New Years Eve

15 Comments

 

Thursday night, I walked the labyrinth for New Year’s Eve. I did this because it was important. This is an important year. I did it for the first time on the New Year’s Eve before my sweetheart found me again. That year was changing from 2010 to 2011. I worked on forgiveness to make room for something new.

This year, I didn’t have a particular theme, like forgiveness, but there was some letting go. I paused as I started the labyrinth, and several times in the first few minutes, because I wasn’t sure if I was on the right path. The path was not easy to see in the dim candle light, but I think it was more my own insecurity, my tendency to doubt myself, that got in the way. So, I worked on letting go of that fear of being on the wrong path. So silly to think that, after everything that’s happened, after how far I’ve come.

I paused later at the nativity statues of Mary, Joseph and the baby Jesus, at the far end of the labyrinth. They were made of something that looked like thin bronze – abstract figures. The baby Jesus reached his hand up from his manger, toward the sky, but also toward me. I felt overwhelming love.

At the center, I felt that love again. I knelt down, in child’s pose, with gratitude, and to rest. Then I started the way back through the labyrinth. The return trip brought more feelings of love and joy as I smiled through little tears.

The woman in front of me, walking the labyrinth, paused to look at a mosaic on the wall. So, I paused too and looked. It was large, about 10 feet high at least, and showed Jesus standing on the shore, I think, looking at the apostles in the boat as they pulled in their nets. I thought of their faith as they brought in abundance from the sea.

As I was almost  finished with the walk, I paused again to see what was on the floor in front of me. It was a tiny feather. I don’t know how it got there, but I picked it up. It has something to do with spreading my wings and flying. What a sweet gift!

Labyrinth featherFeather with glass Jesus

The message that came to me, as I walked the labyrinth on New Year’s Eve, near midnight, was this:

“Do you know how much I love you? Let go of your fears!”

 

SOC badge with butterfly

Today’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was: “pause/paws.”

If you’d like to join in the Saturday SOC prompt and post, visit Linda’s blog:

http://lindaghill.com/2016/01/01/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-jan-216/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

15 thoughts on “Walking the Labyrinth on New Years Eve

  1. I guess you’ve heard the folk tale that feathers on your path means your angels are close by.

  2. I hadn’t heard of the Labyrinth so I went to the link and now I have heard of the Church ….Episcopal. As an old Anglican I was delighted to see an Episcopal Church that is so open and welcoming. I also went back and re-read your “about” page. I wish you a very wonderful New Year.

    • Thank you, John, for the good wishes and for reading my “about” page also. I usually go to a different Episcopal church in town, which is smaller than Church of the Servant, but also open and welcoming. The people hosting the Labyrinth walk on New Years Eve were especially welcoming and gracious which added to the uplifting experience. I hope you have a wonderful New Year, too.

  3. I love this post about your labyrinth walk. It reminds me of walking the labyrinth with my friend Yvonne’s Divine Feminine icons. http://www.sacredartportal.com/divine-feminine-icons.html

    • What a fascinating website! Thank you for sharing it. I was working on art last night, painting angels, in the what I believel was a sacred zone, so you sending Yvonne’s link to me affirms my evolving art work. I am thankful to know another Christian who is so “eclectic like me.” 😉

      • Yvonne is such a spiritual and artistic woman; I wish you could meet. I’m so glad that the link arrived at an inspiring and artistic moment for you. And, yes, I believe that the Divine is so encompassing that eclectic is definitely the way to go! So glad we are on the journey together, JoAnna!

  4. Working on forgiveness to make room for something new is something that resonates with me. And I smiled when you wrote about your tendency to doubt yourself, and how silly that is when you think how far you’ve come. This is a great, beautiful post. I hope 2016 will bring you much happiness.

    • Thank you, dear Escharae. I’m glad you smiled with me on that self doubt and that you liked this post so much as it means a lot to me. And thank you for the good wishes. I hope 2016 brings us both much happiness. 🙂

  5. I love this post…and comments, JoAnna! Ah…the labyrinth!!! I had a very spiritual time the first time I walked one! I remember it with great love and incredible compassion! I miss it…and will do another Web search to see of there is one near me here 😉 I could feel the beautiful energy in your post!! ♡♡

  6. What a wonderful experience! Thanks so much for sharing it, JoAnna. 🙂

Feel free to comment!

