Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Emmanuel

13 Comments

“O Come, O Come Emmanuel” is one of my favorite Advent songs. Emmanuel  means “God is with us.”  But it’s not just the words that I’m drawn to. It’s the magic in the music, especially in this beautiful version by Enya with scenes from The Nativity Story. 

Did you know that Saint Francis of Assisi created the first live nativity scene? It was all the way back in the year 1223. You can learn more here:

http://angels.about.com/od/MiracleBasics/f/How-Did-Francis-Of-Assisi-Begin-The-Christmas-Nativity-Scene-Tradition.htm

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

13 thoughts on “Emmanuel

  1. Pingback: Emmanuel | oshriradhekrishnabole

  2. Yes it is very good. And it is also one of my favourites too.

  3. Yuletide greetings, Jo. I love that hymn and love Enya very very much. Great combination. Have a great Wednesday. xo

  4. I did not know that about St. Francis so thanks for sharing the info, and I thought the video was outstanding. Love, N 🙂 ❤

  5. O come, O Come, Emmanuel is based on the “O Antiphons” which are used in the vespers liturgy in the Catholic Church from Dec. 17-23. All the Messiah titles come from the prophet Isaiah.

  6. I am a little clueless here, but the song is just lovely 🙂 The mood is setting in!

    • Thanks, Prajakta. I’m glad you liked the song. Let me know if I might be able to clarify anything about my post. If it’s about JC’s comment, she knows way more about that than I do. The holiday mood can be a wonderful thing!

  7. Bonsoir JOANNA
    Je te souhaite une très belle soirée
    Il faut peu de chose pour être joyeux
    pour rendre quelqu’un heureux
    Le salut d’un (e)ami(e)

    Un signe chargé de tendresse
    La vie peut être superbe en couleurs
    Un peu de chaleur dans chaque cœur
    Un monde plein de douceur,pour apporter du bonheur
    Un oiseau viens de s’envoler


    Chez toi il vas se poser
    Pour t’apporte mon amitié avec de la chaleur en cette période des fêtes

    JOYEUX NOEL 2015

    Bisous , Bernard

Feel free to comment!

